1980 Norman Connors ‎– Take It To The Limit

Take it to the Limit is the eleventh album by Norman Connors, released in 1980 on Arista.

Norman Connors (born March 1, 1947) is an American jazz drummer, composer, arranger, and producer who has led some influential jazz and R&B groups. He also achieved several big R&B hits of the day, especially with love ballads. He is possibly best known for the 1976 hit, “You Are My Starship” on which lead vocals were sung by Michael Henderson.


1  Take It To The Limit (Phyllis St. James) 3:56
2  Melancholy Fire (David DeMarco) 4:00
3  You’ve Been On My Mind (Shelby Flint) 4:24
4  I Don’t Need Nobody Else (Lou Courtney) 3:53
5  Justify (David Lasley) 3:51
6  Black Cow (Donald Fagen; Walter Becker) 4:58
7  You Bring Me Joy (David Lasley) 3:39
8  Everywhere Inside Of Me (Leon Ware) 4:50



BassNathan East
DrumsJames Gadson
DrumsNorman Connors
GuitarDavid T Walker
GuitarMarlo Henderson
KeyboardsBilly McCoy
KeyboardsBobby Lyle
KeyboardsSonny Burke
French HornAlan Robinson
French HornSidney Muldrow
SaxDon Myrick
SaxJon Kip
SaxRalph Jones
SaxWilliam Green
TromboneGarnett Brown
TromboneGeorge Bohanon
TrumpetBobby Bryant
TrumpetEric Butler
TrumpetNolan Smith
TrumpetOscar Brashear
PercussionNorman Connors
Background VocalsAlex Brown
Background VocalsEric Butler
Background VocalsGwen Matthews
Background VocalsJean Carn
Background VocalsJim Gilstrap
Background VocalsMarlena Jeter
Background VocalsVenetta Fields
Background VocalsThe Jones Girls
VocalsNorman Connors

Other Musicians

1 Take It To The Limit


2 Melancholy Fire

BassByron Miller
VocalsGlenn Jones

3 You’ve Been On My Mind

SaxJerry Peterson

4 I Don’t Need Nobody Else

VocalsAl Johnson

5 Justify


6 Black Cow

FlugelhornFreddie Hubbard

7 You Bring Me Joy


8 Everywhere Inside Of Me

Liner Notes

Producer – Norman Connors
Producer (Vocals) – Norman Connors, Jean Carn
Producer (Assistant) – Gerald Roberts
Directed By – Norman Connors
Arranged By – Al Johnson (Tracks 3, 4, 5, 7)
Arranged By – McKinley Jackson (Track 6)
Arranged By – Jerry Peters (Track 8)
Arranged By (Strings & Horns) – Paul Riser (Tracks 1, 2)
Arranged By (Vocals) – Eric Butler (Track 6)
Concertmaster (Strings) – Harry Bluestone
Conductor – Al Johnson (Tracks 3, 4, 5)
Conductor – McKinley Jackson (Track 6, 7)
Conductor – Jerry Peters (Track 8)
Contractor (Strings) – Benjamin Barrett
Engineer (Assistant) – Ron Averez
Engineer (Recording, Mixing) – Jackson Schwartz
Orchestrated By – McKinley Jackson (Track 6)
Mastered By – John Golden

Art Direction – Donn Davenport
Photography By (Back Cover & Sleeve) – Garry Gross
Photography By (Front Cover) – Anthony Barboza

Recorded At – Kendun Recorders
Mastered At – Kendun Recorders
Phonographic Copyright (p) – RCA Records
Copyright (c) – Funkytowngrooves USA
Manufactured By – Sony Music Entertainment