1979 Donna Summer – Bad Girls

Bad Girls is the seventh studio album by American singer and songwriter Donna Summer, released on April 25, 1979 on Casablanca Records. Originally issued as a double album, Bad Girls became the best-selling album of Summer’s career. The album spent 6 weeks at the top of Billboard’s Hot 200 albums in 1979, for one week on June 16, 1979 and then for 5 consecutive weeks, from July 7 to August 4, 1979. It contained the number one hits “Hot Stuff” and “Bad Girls”, and the number two hit “Dim All the Lights”.

On the week of June 16, 1979, Summer had (for a second time) the No. 1 single “Hot Stuff” and album Bad Girls simultaneously on the Billboard charts. She accomplished this again for a third time, the week of August 14, 1979 when the single “Bad Girls” took the top spot on the Billboard Hot 100 charts for a 5-week run, and the album Bad Girls was at the top of the Billboard 200 album chart. They remained at the top of both charts together for 4 weeks. Summer also became the first female artist to have two songs in the top three, on the Billboard Hot 100 chart, when on the week of June 30, 1979, “Hot Stuff” fell to No. 2 and “Bad Girls” rose to No. 3. Both songs remained in the top three for 4 weeks. The week of July 21, 1979 the single “Bad Girls” took the top spot on the Billboard Hot R &B singles chart, Summer sat on top of 3 major Billboard charts. The album Bad Girls topped the R&B album charts for 3 weeks, June 23 to July 7, 1979.


1  Hot Stuff (Harold Faltermeyer; Keith Forsey; Pete Bellotte) 5:15
2  Bad Girls (Bruce Sudano; Donna Summer; Eddie Hokenson; Joe Esposito) 4:55
3  Love Will Always Find You (Giorgio Moroder; Pete Bellotte) 3:59
4  Walk Away (Harold Faltermeyer; Pete Bellotte) 4:32
5  Dim All The Lights (Donna Summer) 4:41
6  Journey To The Centre Of Your Heart (Giorgio Moroder; Pete Bellotte) 4:36
7  One Night In A Lifetime (Harold Faltermeyer; Pete Bellotte) 4:12
8  Can’t Get To Sleep At Night (Bob Conti; Bruce Sudano) 4:48
9  On My Honor (Donna Summer; Harold Faltermeyer; Bruce Sudano) 3:33
10  There Will Always Be A You (Donna Summer) 5:05
11  All Through The Night (Bruce Roberts; Donna Summer) 6:00
12  My Baby Understands (Donna Summer) 4:00
13  Our Love (Giorgio Moroder; Donna Summer) 4:53
14  Lucky (Giorgio Moroder; Bruce Sudano; Donna Summer; Eddie Hokenson; Joe Esposito) 4:37
15  Sunset People (Harold Faltermeyer; Keith Forsey; Pete Bellotte) 6:29


BassBob Glaub
BassScott Edwards
BassHarold Faltermeyer
DrumsKeith Forsey
PercussionKeith Forsey
GuitarJay Graydon
GuitarJeff Baxter
GuitarPaul Jackson Jr
GuitarAl Perkins
Pedal Steel GuitarAl Perkins
ClavinetHarold Faltermeyer
Fender RhodesHarold Faltermeyer
PianoJai Winding
PianoHarold Faltermeyer
SynthesizerHarold Faltermeyer
SaxGary Herbig
TromboneBill Reichenbach
TromboneDick Hyde
TrumpetGary Grant
TrumpetJerry Hey
TrumpetSteve Madaio
Background VocalsJulia Tillman Waters
Background VocalsMaxine Willard Waters
Background VocalsStephanie Spruill
VocalsDonna Summer

Other Musicians

1 Hot Stuff

Guitar (solo)Jeff Baxter

11 All Through The Night

PianoBruce Roberts
SynthesizerBruce Roberts

13 Our Love

ProgrammingDan Wyman

Liner Notes

Producer – Giorgio Moroder, Pete Bellotte (Tracks 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 13, 14, 15)
Producer – Donna Summer, Jurgen Koppers (Track 12)
Arranged By – Harold Faltermeyer
Engineer (Assistant) – Carolyn Tapp
Engineer (Mix) – Jurgen Koppers
Engineer (Recording) – Juegen Koppers, Steven D. Smith
Mastered By – Brian Gardner
Strings – Sidney Sharp
Technician – Roman Olearczuk

Design – David Fleming, Gribbitt!, Stephen Lumel
Design Concept – Donna Summer
Photography By – Harry Langdon

Mastered by Brian Gardner at Alan Zentz Studios, Los Angeles
Mixed At Rusk Sound Studios, Los Angeles
Recorded At Rusk Sound Studios, Los Angeles
Recorded at Music Grinder Studios, Los Angeles

Note: Musician – Bruce Fisher, Holden Raphael, Jeff Holman, Jill Colucci, Kevin Moore (5), Michael King (4), Patty Fisher, Scott Lipsker (Track 12)
Backing Vocals – L.A (Track 12)