1978 Little Feat – Waiting For Columbus

Waiting for Columbus is the first live album by the band Little Feat, recorded during seven performances in 1977. The first four shows were held at the Rainbow Theatre in London on August 1–4, 1977. The final three shows were recorded the following week at George Washington University’s Lisner Auditorium in Washington, D.C. on August 8–10. Local Washington radio personality Don “Cerphe” Colwell can be heard leading the audience in a “F-E-A-T” spellout in between the first (“Join the Band”) and second (“Fat Man in the Bathtub”) tracks.

The band were backed by the Tower of Power horn section with whom they had recorded for their 1974 album Feats Don’t Fail Me Now. The result was one of their biggest selling albums.

Many of their more well-known songs were either re-worked or extended. For instance, one of their signature songs, “Dixie Chicken”, was heavily extended to include a lengthy piano solo by keyboardist Bill Payne, a Dixieland horn arrangement and finally a dual guitar jam between the band’s two guitarists, Lowell George and Paul Barrere. In some cases, songs such as “Rocket in My Pocket” and “Mercenary Territory” were re-worked to include the horn section, and Little Feat additionally covered such tunes as Fraternity of Man’s “Don’t Bogart That Joint” and Allen Toussaint’s “On Your Way Down”. Former Rolling Stones guitarist Mick Taylor makes a guest appearance playing slide guitar on “A Apolitical Blues”.


1  Join The Band (Traditional) 1:54
2  Fat Man In The Bathtub (Lowell George) 4:54
3  All That You Dream (Paul Barrere; Lowell George) 4:29
4  Oh Atlanta (Bill Payne) 4:20
5  Old Folk’s Boogie (GP Barrere; Paul Barrere) 4:27
6  Dixie Chicken (Lowell George; Martin Kibbee) 8:58
7  Tripe Face Boogie (Richie Hayward; Bill Payne) 7:10
8  Rocket In My Pocket (Lowell George) 3:58
9  Time Loves A Hero (Paul Barrere; Kenny Gradney; Bill Payne) 4:20
10  Day Or Night (Bill Payne; Fran Tate) 5:31
11  Mercenary Territory (Lowell George; Richie Hayward) 4:37
12  Spanish Moon (Lowell George) 5:36


1  Willin’ (Lowell George) 4:42
2  Don’t Bogart That Joint (Elliot Ingber; Lawrence Wagner) 1:02
3  A Apolitical Blues (Lowell George) 3:51
4  Sailin’ Shoes (Lowell George) 6:24
5  Feats Don’t Fail Me Now (Paul Barrere; Lowell George; Martin Kibbee) 5:35
6  One Love Stand (Paul Barrere; Kenny Gradney; Martin Kibbee) 4:27
7  Rock And Roll Doctor (Lowell George; Martin Kibbee) 4:17
8  Skin It Back (Paul Barrere) 5:40
9  On Your Way Down (Allen Toussaint) 6:26
10  Walkin All Night (Paul Barrere; Bill Payne) 4:13
11  Cold, Cold, Cold (Lowell George) 5:19
12  Day At The Dog Races (Paul Barrere; Sam Clayton; Kenny Gradney; Richie Hayward; Bill Payne) 12:12
13  Skin It Back (Paul Barrere) 4:41
14  Red Streamliner (Bill Payne; Fran Tate) 5:00
15  Teenage Nervous Breakdown (Lowell George) 4:12



BassKenny Gradney
DrumsRichie Hayward
GuitarPaul Barrere
GuitarLowell George
KeyboardsBill Payne
SynthesizerBill Payne
PercussionSam Clayton
VocalsPaul Barrere
VocalsRichie Hayward
VocalsBill Payne
VocalsLowell George
ClarinetLenny Pickett
SaxEmilio Castillo
SaxLenny Pickett
SaxStephen Kupka
TromboneMic Gillette
TrumpetGreg Adams
TrumpetMic Gillette

Other Musicians

3-2 A Apolitical Blues

GuitarMick Taylor
Slide GuitarMick Taylor


14-2 Red Streamliner

Background VocalsMichael McDonald
Background VocalsPatrick Simmons

Liner Notes

Producer – Lowell George
Mixed By – Bill Robinson, Jim Isaacson, Peggy McCreary
Recorded By – Andy Bloch, George Massenburg, Warren Dewey

Photography By – Debby Chesher, Elizabeth George, Nancy Goldfarb

Pressed By – Capitol Records Pressing Plant, Los Angeles
Phonographic Copyright (p) – Warner Bros. Records Inc.
Copyright (c) – Warner Bros. Records Inc.
Mastered At – The Mastering Lab
Recorded At – Rainbow Theatre London
Recorded At – Lisner Auditorium
Recorded By – Manor Mobile
Mixed At – Sunset Sound