1973 Stevie Wonder – Innervisions

Innervisions is the 16th studio album by American musician Stevie Wonder, released August 3, 1973, on the Tamla label for Motown Records, a landmark recording of his “classic period”. The nine tracks of Innervisions encompass a wide range of themes and issues: from drug abuse in “Too High”, through inequality and systemic racism in “Living for the City”, to love in the ballads “All in Love Is Fair” and “Golden Lady”. The album’s closer, “He’s Misstra Know-It-All”, is a scathing attack on then-US President Richard Nixon, similar to Wonder’s song a year later, “You Haven’t Done Nothin'”.

Innervisions debuted on the Billboard albums chart on August 18, 1973 at number 85, then climbed up weekly to number 22, number 14, number nine, number six until reaching its peak position of number four on September 15. As with many of Stevie Wonder’s albums, the lyrics, composition and production are almost entirely his own work, with the ARP synthesizer used prominently throughout the album. The instrument was a common motif among musicians of the time because of its ability to construct a complete sound environment. Wonder was the first black artist to experiment with this technology on a mass scale, and Innervisions was hugely influential on the subsequent future of commercial black music. He also played all or virtually all instruments on six of the album’s nine tracks, making most of Innervisions a representative one-man band.


1  Too High (Stevie Wonder) 4:36
2  Visions (Stevie Wonder) 5:23
3  Living For The City (Stevie Wonder) 7:22
4  Golden Lady (Stevie Wonder) 4:59
5  Higher Ground (Stevie Wonder) 3:42
6  Jesus Children Of America (Stevie Wonder) 4:12
7  All In Love Is Fair (Stevie Wonder) 3:41
8  Don\’t You Worry \’Bout A Thing (Stevie Wonder) 4:44
9  He\’s Misstra Know-It-All (Stevie Wonder) 5:35



1 Too High

All InstrumentsStevie Wonder
Background VocalsJim Gilstrap
Background VocalsLani Groves
Background VocalsTasha Thomas

2 Visions

All InstrumentsStevie Wonder
BassMalcolm Cecil
GuitarDavid T Walker
Acoustic GuitarDean Parks

3 Living For The City

All InstrumentsStevie Wonder

4 Golden Lady

DrumsStevie Wonder
Acoustic GuitarRalph Hammer
Fender RhodesStevie Wonder
MoogStevie Wonder
OrganClarence Bell
CongasLarry Latimer

5 Higher Ground

All InstrumentsStevie Wonder

6 Jesus Children Of America

All InstrumentsStevie Wonder

7 All In Love Is Fair

BassScott Edwards
DrumsStevie Wonder
PianoStevie Wonder
Fender RhodesStevie Wonder

8 Don\’t You Worry \’Bout A Thing

All InstrumentsStevie Wonder
ShakerYusuf Rahman
PercussionSheila Wilkerson

9 He\’s Misstra Know-It-All

All InstrumentsStevie Wonder
BassWillie Weeks

Liner Notes

Producer – Stevie Wonder
Co-producer (Associate Producer) – Malcolm Cecil, Robert Margouleff
Arranged By – Stevie Wonder
Coordinator (Recording Coordinators) – Ira Tucker Jr, John Harris
Engineer (Electronic Music) – Malcolm Cecil, Robert Margouleff
Mastered By – George Marino
Programmed By (Arp, Moog) – Malcolm Cecil, Robert Margouleff
Recorded By (Recordist) – Austin Godsey, Dan Barbiero
Tape Op – Gary Olazabal

Illustration – Efram Wolff

Phonographic Copyright (p) – Motown Record Corporation
Copyright (c) – Motown Record Corporation
Recorded At – Record Plant, Los Angeles
Recorded At – Mediasound
Produced For – Taurus Productions Inc.
Mastered At – Master Cutting Room
Mastered At – RCA Studios, Hollywood
Pressed By – RCA Records Pressing Plant, Hollywood
Record Company – Motown Record Corporation