1979 George Duke – Master Of The Game

Master Of The Game is the fourteenth studio album by American keyboardist and record producer George Duke. It was released in 1979 through Epic Records. Recording sessions for this full-length album took place at Westlake Recording Studios in Los Angeles. The album features contributions from vocalists Lynn Davis, Josie James and Napoleon Murphy Brock, guitarists David Myles, Ray Obiedo and Roland Bautista, bassists Byron Miller and Freddie Washington, drummer Ricky Lawson, percussionist Sheila Escovedo, trombonist Bill Reichenbach, trumpeters Jerry Hey and Gary Grant, and saxophonist Gary Herbig.

In creating of Master of the Game, Duke used a variety of keyboard instruments viz. Fender Rhodes electric piano, Yamaha Acoustic piano, Yamaha Electric grand piano, Wurlitzer electric piano, Hohner Clavinet D6, ARP Odyssey and ARP String Ensemble synthesizers, Minimoog, Oberheim synthesizer, Sequential Circuits Prophet-5 and Crumar synthesizer. David Myles played six and twelve-string acoustic guitars, electric guitar and sitar. The album was mastered by Brian Gardner at Allen Zent Studio in Los Angeles.

The album peaked at number 125 on the US Billboard 200 album chart and at number 18 on the Top R&B/Hip-Hop Albums chart. Master of the Game spawned two singles: “I Want You for Myself” and “Every Little Step I Take”. Its lead single, “I Want You for Myself” featuring Lynn Davis, reached number 23 on both the Hot R&B/Hip-Hop Songs and the Dance Club Songs charts


1  Look What You Find (George Duke) 4:44
2  Every Little Step I Take (George Duke) 3:49
3  Games (George Duke; Sheila Escovedo) 3:14
4  I Want You For Myself (George Duke) 6:38
5  In The Distance (George Duke) 2:20
6  I Love You More (George Duke) 3:06
7  Dog-Man (George Duke) 4:40
8  Everybody’s Talkin’ (George Duke) 4:19
9  Part 1 – The Alien Challenges The Stick / Part 2 – The Alien Succumbs To The Macho Intergalactic Funkativity Of The Funkblasters (George Duke; Byron Miller; David Myles; Ricky Lawson) 9:20



BassByron Miller
DrumsRicky Lawson
GuitarDavid Myles
Acoustic GuitarGeorge Duke
ClavinetGeorge Duke
Fender RhodesGeorge Duke
KeyboardsGeorge Duke
OrganGeorge Duke
SynthesizerGeorge Duke
FlugelhornJerry Hey
PiccoloGary Herbig
SaxGary Herbig
TromboneBill Reichenbach
TrumpetJerry Hey
PercussionSheila Escovedo
VocalsJosie James
VocalsLynn Davis
VocalsNapolean Brock

Other Musicians

3 Games

BassFred Washington
DrumsSheila Escovedo
GuitarRay Obiedo
PercussionSheila Escovedo

4 I Want You For Myself

VocalsLynn Davis

7 Dog-Man

TrumpetGary Grant

8 Everybody’s Talkin’

GuitarRoland Bautista

Liner Notes

Producer – George Duke
Arranged By – George Duke
Engineer – Tommy Vicari
Engineer (Assistant) – Erik Zobler, Mitch Gibson
Mastered By – Brian Gardner

Artwork (Cover) – David Fisher
Photography By – Bruce Talamon

Phonographic Copyright (p) – CBS Inc.
Copyright (c) – CBS Inc.
Published By – Mycenae Music Publishing Co.
Published By – Cho Cheat Music
Recorded At – Westlake Audio
Mastered At – Allen Zentz Mastering
Pressed By – CBS, Haarlem – 01-83591
Produced For – George Duke Enterprises