1976 The Doobie Brothers – Takin’ It To The Streets

Takin’ It to the Streets is the sixth studio album by American rock band The Doobie Brothers. The album was released on March 19, 1976, by Warner Bros. Records. It was the first to feature Michael McDonald on lead vocals.


1  Wheels Of Fortune (Patrick Simmons; Jeff Baxter; John Hartman) 4:57
2  Takin’ It To The Streets (Michael McDonald) 3:59
3  8Th Avenue Shuffle (Patrick Simmons) 4:44
4  Losin’ End (Michael McDonald) 3:49
5  Rio (Patrick Simmons; Jeff Baxter) 3:51
6  For Someone Special (Tiran Porter) 5:05
7  It Keeps You Runnin’ (Michael McDonald) 4:20
8  Turn It Loose (Tom Johnston) 3:57
9  Carry Me Away (Patrick Simmons; Jeff Baxter; Michael McDonald) 4:07


BassTiran Porter
DrumsJohn Hartman
DrumsKeith Knudsen
GuitarTom Johnston
GuitarPatrick Simmons
GuitarJeff Baxter
Steel GuitarJeff Baxter
KeyboardsMichael McDonald
SynthesizerMichael McDonald
SaxAndrew Love
SaxJames Mitchell
SaxLewis Collins Jr
TromboneJack Hale
TrumpetWayne Jackson
PercussionBob LaKind
PercussionTed Templeman
VocalsTom Johnston
VocalsPatrick Simmons
VocalsMichael McDonald
VocalsTiran Porter

Other Musicians

1 Wheels Of Fortune

DrumsRichie Hayward

2 Takin’ It To The Streets

OrganJesse Butler

4 Losin’ End

ViolaNovi Novog

5 Rio

VocalsMaria Muldaur

Liner Notes

Producer – Ted Templeman
Coordinator – Beth Naranjo
Engineer – Donn Landee

Art Direction – Ed Thrasher
Photography By – Dan Fong

Recorded At – Warner Bros. Recording Studios
Mixed At – Sunset Sound Recorders