1976 The Richie Furay Band – I’ve Got A Reason

I’ve Got a Reason is the debut solo album by American singer-songwriter Richie Furay, released in 1976.

After leaving Poco in 1974 and the country rock supergroup Souther-Hillman-Furay Band, Furay released his first solo album which reflected Furay’s newfound Christian beliefs. He formed The Richie Furay Band with Jay Truax, John Mehler, and Tom Stipe. To support the release of this album Furay formed an alliance with David Geffen and Asylum Records. Furay assured Geffen that his album would be Christian influenced but would not be an attempt to preach his newfound beliefs. After two tours and two more releases on the Asylum label during the late 1970s, he left the music business and became a minister.


1  Look At The Sun (Richie Furay; Tom Stipe) 5:07
2  We\’ll See (Richie Furay) 3:02
3  Starlight (Richie Furay; Tom Stipe) 3:40
4  Gettin\’ Through (Richie Furay; Tom Stipe) 2:59
5  I\’ve Got A Reason (Richie Furay) 4:07
6  Mighty Maker (Richie Furay) 3:54
7  You\’re The One I Love (Richie Furay) 3:41
8  Still Rolling Stones (Richie Furay) 3:55
9  Over And Over Again (Richie Furay; Tom Stipe) 7:08



BassJay Truax
DrumsJohn Mehler
GuitarRichie Furay
KeyboardsTom Stipe
Background VocalsJay Truax
VocalsRichie Furay
GuitarAl Perkins
GuitarSteve Cropper
BanjoDon Gerber
KeyboardsMichael Omartian
PercussionAlex MacDougall
PercussionMichael Omartian
Background VocalsAnn White
Background VocalsMichael Omartian
Background VocalsCarolyn Willis
Background VocalsMyrna Matthews
Background VocalsStormie Omartian

Liner Notes

Producer – Bill Schnee, Michael Omartian
Engineer – Bill Schnee
Engineer (Assistant) – Rick Hart
Mastered By – Doug Sax

Art Direction, Design – Chas Barbour

Manufactured By – Elektra/Asylum/Nonesuch Records
Phonographic Copyright (p) – Asylum Records
Pressed By – Specialty Records Corporation
Published By – New Harmony Music
Published By – Song Mountain Music Publishers