1979 David Oliver – Mind Magic

Mind Magic is the second album by vocalist David Oliver. It was released in 1979 on Mercury Records

David Oliver (January 8, 1942 – June 6, 1982) was a soul singer best known for the quiet storm radio hit, “Ms” as well as his composition “Friends & Strangers”, which was covered by Ronnie Laws in 1977. He also recorded the first version of the Cecil Womack song “Love TKO”, releasing it as an album track on Here’s To You in 1980.


1  Who Are You (David Oliver) 3:42
2  I Wanna Write You A Love Song (David Oliver; Michael Gradney) 6:11
3  Housewives Are People Too (Wayne Henderson; David Oliver) 4:38
4  When The Thrill Comes (David Oliver) 3:27
5  Private Secretary (David Oliver; Wayne Henderson) 3:44
6  One Night Man (David Oliver; Darryl Moore; Ruth Robinson) 3:39
7  Southern Comfort (Wayne Henderson; David Oliver) 3:45
8  I Surrender (Jim Ford) 3:25
9  Take My Emptiness (David Oliver) 3:08



BassEdward Reddick
DrumsJames Gadson
GuitarDarryl Moore
KeyboardsGreg Phillinganes
KeyboardsDean Gant
KeyboardsEddie Noble
HarmonicaTommy Morgan
French HornDavid Duke
HornsBob Greaves
HornsChuck Brooke
HornsGarnett Brown
HornsJohn Ervin
HornsOscar Brashear
HornsSteve Madaio
PercussionVance Tenort
Background VocalsAlex Brown
Background VocalsAngela Winbush
Background VocalsStephanie Spruill
Background VocalsAugie Johnson
Background VocalsJim Gilstrap
VocalsDavid Oliver

Other Musicians

Cello – Armand Kaproff, Douglas Davis, Robert L. Adcock, Selene Hurford
Harp – Catherine Gotthoffer
Violin – Barbara Durant, Bonnie Douglas, Carroll Stephens, Gordon Marron, Harry Bluestone, James Getzoff, Janet Lakatos, Nathan Kaproff, Nathan Ross, Stanley Plummer

Liner Notes

Producer – Wayne Henderson
Arranged By – Wayne Henderson, George Del Barrio, McKinley Jackson
Concertmaster – Paul Shure
Engineer – Allen Sides, Hank Sanicola, Jay Kaufman, Michael Evans

Art Direction, Design – Mike Doud
Illustration – Stan Watts
Photography By – Richard Arrindell

Phonographic Copyright (p) – Phonogram, Inc.
Copyright (c) – Phonogram, Inc.
Manufactured By – Phonogram, Inc.
Produced For – At Home Productions
Recorded At – Ocean Way Recording
Mixed At – Ocean Way Recording
Mastered At – Kendun Recorders