1978 Dr John – City Lights

City Lights is the first album Dr John recorded for A&M Records’ Horizon imprint, released in 1979. Famous painter Neon Park, best known for his associations with and album covers for Little Feat and Frank Zappa, provided the album artwork, as indicated by his name being included in the corner on the cover.


1  Dance The Night Away With You (Doc Pomus; Mac Rebennack) 4:06
2  Street Side (Mac Rebennack) 6:01
3  Wild Honey (Bobby Charles; Mac Rebennack) 4:10
4  Rain (Mac Rebennack) 4:46
5  Snake Eyes (Mac Rebennack) 6:44
6  Fire Of Love (Alvin Robinson; Mac Rebennack) 3:59
7  Sonata / He’s A Hero (Doc Pomus; Mac Rebennack) 5:20
8  City Lights (Doc Pomus; Mac Rebennack) 3:22


Bass Will Lee
Drums Steve Gadd
Guitar Hugh McCracken
Guitar John Tropea
Keyboards Mac Rebennack
Keyboards Richard Tee
Cornet Charlie Miller
Sax David Sanborn
Sax George Young
Trombone Barry Rogers
Percussion Arthur Jenkins
Background Vocals Alvin Robinson
Background Vocals George Jones
Background Vocals Ronnie Barron
Background Vocals Tami Lynn
Vocals Mac Rebennack

Other Musicians

2 Street Side

OrganNeil Larsen
HarmonicaHugh McCracken

5 Snake Eyes

Guitar (solo)Buzzy Feiten

6 Fire Of Love

MoogHugh McCracken
OrganNeil Larsen
SaxPlas Johnson

7 Sonata / He’s A Hero

ClarinetAlvin Batiste
SaxPlas Johnson


Liner Notes

Producer – Hugh McCracken, Tommy LiPuma
Producer (Assistant) – Christine Martin
Arranged By (Horns, Rhythm) – Mac Rebennack, Hugh McCracken
Arranged By (Strings)- Claus Ogerman
Conductor – Claus Ogerman
Engineer (Assistant) – David Prentice, Don Henderson
Mastered By – Mike Reese
Mixed By – Al Schmitt
Recorded By – Al Schmitt, Hank Cicalo, Kevin Herron

Cover, Design – Neon Park

Mastered At The Mastering Lab
Mixed At Capitol Studios
Recorded At The Hit Factory
Phonographic Copyright A&M Records Inc
Copyright A&M Records Inc