1972 Don McLean – Don McLean

Don McLean is an album by American singer-songwriter Don McLean, released in 1972, peaking at number 23 on the Billboard 200 chart. It was reissued by BGO Records in 1996. The photo on the cover of the album was taken overlooking the Village of Cold Spring, NY.


1  Dreidl (Don McLean) 3:45
2  Branco Bill’s Lament (Don McLean) 3:40
3  Oh My What A Shame (Don McLean) 3:27
4  If We Try (Don McLean) 3:38
5  The More You Pay (The More It’s Worth) (Don McLean) 2:54
5  Narcisissma (Don McLean) 3:55
6  Falling Through Time (Don McLean) 3:46
7  On The Amazon (Clifford Grey; Greatrex Newman; Vivian Ellis) 3:20
8  Birthday Song (Don McLean) 2:38
9  The Pride Parade (Don McLean) 4:28



BassRob Rothstein
DrumsChris Parker
GuitarBuzzy Feiten
GuitarDon McLean
DulcimersEd Trickett
PianoNeil Larsen
HarmonicaDon Brooks
CelloGeorge Ricci
ViolinRuss Savakus
PercussionRalph MacDonald
VocalsRob Rothstein
VocalsDon McLean

Other Musicians

1 Dreidl

BassTony Levin

3 Oh My What A Shame

PianoWarren Bernhardt

7 On The Amazon

PianoDick Hyman

8 Birthday Song

BassTony Levin

Liner Notes

Producer – Ed Freeman
Arranged By – Ed Freeman
Engineer – Tom Flye
Engineer (Assistant) – Dennis Ferrante, Ed Sprigg, Rod O’Brien

Photography By (Cover) – John Olson

Record Company – King Records
Mastered At – Artisan Sound Recorders
Recorded At – Record Plant, N.Y.C.