1963 Al Hirt – Our Man in New Orleans

Our Man in New Orleans is an album by Al Hirt released by RCA Victor. The album was conducted and arranged by Marty Paich and produced by Steve Sholes.

The album landed on the Billboard Top LPs chart in 1963, reaching No. 44.


1  Clarinet Marmalade (Henry Ragas; Larry Shields) 2:23
2  Ol’ Man River (Oscar Hammerstein III; Jerome Kern) 3:09
3  New Orleans (Hoagy Carmichael) 3:19
4  Panama (William Tyers) 2:19
5  The Birth Of The Blues (Lew Brown; Ray Henderson; BG DeSylva) 3:19
6  Ja-Da (Bob Carleton) 2:45
7  Wolverine Blues (Benjamin Franklin Spikes; Jelly Roll Johnson; John Spikers) 2:31
8  Oh Dem Golden Slippers (James A Bland) 2:29
9  When The Saints Go Marching In (Traditional) 1:59
10  When It’s Sleepy Time Down South (Clarence Muse; Leon Rene; Otis Rene) 4:03
11  Muskrat Ramble (Edward Ory) 2:45
12  Dear Old Southland (Henry Creamer; Turner Layton) 3:03



Double BassLowell Miller
DrumsFrank Hudec
ClarinetPee Wee Spitelera
PianoRonnie Dupont
TromboneJerry Hirt
TrumpetAl Hirt

Liner Notes

Producer – Steve Sholes
Arranged By – Marty Paich
Conductor – Marty Paich
Mastered By – Al Schmitt, John Norman
Recorded By – Al Schmitt

Photography By – David B. Hecht

Recorded in RCA Victor’s Music Center of the World, Hollywood, California