1979 Hank Williams Jr. – Family Tradition

Family Tradition is an album released by country music artist Hank Williams Jr. It was released in April 1979 by Curb Records, his third studio album for the label.

Family Tradition was a significant success, both critically and commercially for Williams. It peaked at number 3 on the Billboard Top Country Albums chart, making it Williams’ first Top 5 album since 1969’s Live at Cobo Hall. Four of the ten tracks were released as singles, the first single being “I Fought the Law”. “I Fought the Law” was originally a hit for the rock & roll group The Bobby Fuller Four in the early 1960s and the song was a moderate success for Williams, peaking at number 15 on the Billboard Hot Country Singles & Tracks chart. The follow up singles, “Old Flame, New Fire” and “To Love Somebody” had little success, only peaking at number 54 and number 49 respectively. The final single, the album’s title track, “Family Tradition”, would become one of Williams’ most popular and recognized songs. It peaked at number 4 on the Hot Country Singles & Tracks chart, his first Top 10 single since 1974. Williams’ performance received rave reviews by critics and he received his first Grammy nomination for Best Country Vocal Performance, Male. The album was also a significant commercial success for Williams, becoming only his second album to be certified Gold by the RIAA.


1  To Love Somebody (Barry Gibb, Maurice Gibb, Robin Gibb) 3:08
2  Old Flame, New Fire (Oskar Solomon) 2:37
3  Always Loving You (Steve Young) 4:26
4  We Can Work It All Out (Hank Williams Jr) 2:20
5  I Fought The Law (Sonny Curtis) 2:25
6  Family Tradition (Hank Williams Jr) 4:01
7  Only Daddy That\’ll Walk The Line (Jimmy Bryant) 3:18
8  Paying On Time (Allen Reynolds, Hank Williams Jr) 3:13
9  I\’ve Got Rights (Hank Williams Jr) 3:35
10  I Just Ain\’t Been Able (Hank Williams Jr) 2:35



BassBob Wray
BassRay Pohlman
BassReinie Press
DrumsBilly Thomas
DrumsChet McCracken
DrumsRoger Clark
GuitarJay Graydon
GuitarAl Bruno
GuitarJerry Wallace
Steel GuitarBrad Felton
Acoustic GuitarMac McAnally
Acoustic GuitarRichard Bennett
KeyboardsAlan Lindgren
KeyboardsClayton Ivey
KeyboardsDon Randi
KeyboardsGreg Mathieson
PercussionKing Errisson
Background VocalsCarol Chase
Background VocalsJim Dugan
Background VocalsKaren McLain
Background VocalsPam Johnze
Background VocalsPatricia Erickson
Background VocalsSusan Allanson

Other Musicians

Horns – Muscle Shoals Horns
Cello – Jesse Ehrlich, Judy Perett, Ray Kelly, Roberet Adcock
Violin – David Turner, Henry Ferber, James Getzoff, Murray Adler, Robert L Adcock, Sidney Sharp, William Kurasch

Liner Notes

Producer – Ray Ruff (Tracks 1, 2, 3, 4, 5)
Producer – Jimmy Bowen (Tracks 6, 7, 8, 9)
Producer – Phil Gernhard (Track 10)
Arranged By – Dick Hieronymus, John D\’Andrea
Copyist – Arthur Von Schloff
Engineer – Jerry Hall, Leslie King, Mary Beth McLemore, Michael Lietz, Ron Treat
Mastered By – Glenn Meadows

Art Direction, Design – Ron Coro
Photography – Jim Shea

Record Company – Curb Records
Manufactured By – WEA Music Of Canada, Ltd.
Distributed By – WEA Music Of Canada, Ltd.
Phonographic Copyright (p) – Elektra Records
Copyright (c) – Elektra/Asylum Records
Published By – Bocephus Music Co.