1977 Peter Nero – The Wiz

The Wiz is an album by Peter Nero, released in 1977.

Peter Nero (born Bernard Nierow, May 22, 1934) is an American pianist and pops conductor.[1] He directed the Philly Pops from 1979 to 2013, and has earned two Grammy Awards.


1  The Wiz (Charlie Smalls) 10:23
2  Send In The Clowns (Stephen Sondheim) 4:54
3  Laughter In The Rain (Neil Sedaka; Phil Cody) 3:34
4  Never Can Say Goodbye (Clifton Davis) 3:49



BassRichard Nanista
DrumsAndy Zoob
PianoPeter Nero
BrassGary Grant
BrassJay Daversa
French HornArthur Maebe
French HornRichard Perissi
TromboneGeorge Roberts
TromboneJoe Howard
TromboneLloyd Ulyate
WoodwindsBernie Fleischer
WoodwindsGene Cipriano
WoodwindsJohnny Rotella
WoodwindsNorman Benno
WoodwindsTed Nash
HarpVerlye Mills
PercussionJoe Porcaro

Other Musicians

Cello – Victor Sazer
Viola – Alfred Barr, David Schwartz, Gareth Nuttycombe
Violin – Arnold Belnick, Bernard Kundell, Dorothy Wade, Leonard Atkins, Nathan Ross, Shirley Cornell

Liner Notes

Producer – Ed Wodenjak, Michael R. Phillips
Arranged By – Peter Nero
Concertmaster – Nathan Ross
Engineer (Live Mix) – Michael Schumann

Design – Ruby Mazur

Phonographic Copyright (p) – Crystal Clear Records, Inc.
Copyright (c) – Crystal Clear Records, Inc.