1976 General Johnson – General Johnson

General Johnson is the second album by  Norman Earl “General” Johnson, released in 1976.

General Norman Johnson (May 23, 1941 – October 13, 2010) was the frontman of Chairmen of the Board and an American rhythm and blues songwriter and record producer.


1  Temperature Risin\’ (General Johnson) 5:48
2  Don\’t Walk Away (General Johnson) 4:34
3  We The People (General Johnson) 4:10
4  Lies (General Johnson) 3:07
5  All In The Family (General Johnson) 4:07
6  Only Love Can Mend A Broken Heart (General Johnson) 3:09
7  Patches (General Johnson) 5:29
8  Keep Keepin\’ On (General Johnson) 2:54
9  Ready, Willing And Able (General Johnson) 3:24



BassJohn Siegler
DrumsRick Marotta
DrumsDwayne Lomax
GuitarDavid Wolfert
GuitarJerry Friedman
KeyboardsDon Grolnick
KeyboardsJohn Lissauer
KeyboardsRalph Schuckett
KeyboardsRob Hyman
SynthesizerJim Cathcart
SynthesizerRalph Schuckett
SynthesizerRob Hyman
VibraphoneRalph Schuckett
PercussionAngel Allende
PercussionArthur Jenkins
PercussionGeneral Johnson
PercussionRalph MacDonald
PercussionRick Chertoff
Background VocalsArnold McCuller
Background VocalsDavid Lasley
Background VocalsHilda Harris
Background VocalsMaeretha Stewart
Background VocalsPatti Austin
Background VocalsPhilip Ballou
VocalsGeneral Johnson

Liner Notes

Producer – General Johnson, Rick Chertoff
Producer (Executive) – Clive Davis (Track 5)
Arranged By (Horns) – Ralph Schuckett (Tracks 1, 3)
Arranged By (Horns) – David Van DePitte (Tracks 2, 4, 5, 7, 8)
Arranged By (Horns) – John Lissauer (Track 6)
Arranged By (Strings) – David Van DePitte
Engineer (Additional) – Andy Abrams, David Thoener, Jimmy Iovine, Roy Cicala, Thom Panunzio
Engineer (Recording, Remix) – Gerald Block
Mastered By – George Marino

Art Direction, Design – Nancy Greenberg
Design (Logo) – Ray Barber
Photography By – Benno Friedman

Mastered At – Sterling Sound
Phonographic Copyright (p) – Arista Records, Inc.
Copyright (c) – Arista Records, Inc.