1987 Ray Parker Jr – After Dark

Parker Jr, Ray 1987After Dark is the fourth album by guitarist/singer/songwriter Ray Parker Jr. released in 1987 for the new Geffen Records label. The record company released the album on February 14, 1987. It included the single “I Don’t Think That Man Should Sleep Alone”.


I Don\’t Think That Man Should Sleep Alone (Ray Parker Jr) 4:15
Over You (Ray Parker Jr, Carole Bayer Sager, Burt Bacharach) 4:40
3  Lovin\’ You (Ray Parker Jr) 4:10
4  You Shoulda Kept A Spare (Ray Parker Jr) 4:48
5  The Past (Ray Parker Jr) 3:30
6  You Make My Nature Dance (Ray Parker Jr) 4:31
7  Perfect Lovers (Carole Bayer Sager, Burt Bacharach, Nathan East) 4:52
8  After Midnite (Ray Parker Jr) 4:03
9  I Love Your Daughter (Ray Parker Jr) 3:45
10  After Dark (Ray Parker Jr) 4:29


BassCornelius Mims
BassNathan East
BassNeil Stubenhaus
DrumsJeffrey Porcaro
DrumsCarlos Vega
DrumsOllie E. Brown
GuitarRay Parker Jr
KeyboardsRobbie Buchanan
KeyboardsGreg Phillinganes
KeyboardsBurt Bacharach
KeyboardsEric Daniels
KeyboardsWayne Lindsey
KeyboardsSylvester Rivers
PianoKevin Toney
SynthesizerLarry Williams
Background VocalsAnita Sherman
Background VocalsArnell Carmichael
Background VocalsCandice Ghant
Background VocalsCornelius Mims
Background VocalsGreg Phillinganes
Background VocalsJulia Tillman Waters
Background VocalsKamaya Koepke
Background VocalsKaryn White
Background VocalsKashif
Background VocalsKeith Harrison
Background VocalsLynne Fiddmont
Background VocalsMaxine Willard Waters
Background VocalsMonty Seward
Background VocalsPhillip Bailey
Background VocalsYogi Horton

Other Musicians

2 Over You

SaxDave Boruff
VocalsNatalie Cole

4 You Shoulda Kept A Spare

SaxGerald Albright

Liner Notes

Producer – Ray Parker Jr (Tracks 1, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 9, 10)
Producer – Burt Bacharach, Carole Bayer Sager (Tracks 2, 7)
Engineer – Steve Halquist, Ray Parker Jr
Engineer (Additional) – Gary Olazabal, Michael Mancini, Mick Guzauski, Tommy Vicari
Engineer (Assistant) – Jerry Hall, Ray Parker III
Technician (Production Assistant) – Horatio Gordon

Art Direction – Laura LiPuma
Photography By – Victoria Sim

Phonographic Copyright (p) – The David Geffen Company
Copyright (c) – The David Geffen Company
Recorded At – Ameraycan Studios
Recorded At – Ocean Way Recording
Recorded At – Lion Share Recording Studios
Recorded At – Wonderland Studios, Los Angeles
Recorded At – Cherokee Studios
Recorded At – Conway Studios
Recorded At – Devonshire Studios
Mastered At – The Record Group
Manufactured By – Warner Bros. Records Inc.