1979 John David Souther – You’re Only Lonely

You’re Only Lonely is the third album by American singer-songwriter J. D. Souther, released in 1979. The title song charted as a single on Billboard, reaching number 1 on the Adult Contemporary chart. “White Rhythm & Blues” was covered by Linda Ronstadt on her album Living in the USA.


You\’re Only Lonely (John David Souther) 3:48
2  If You Don\’t Want My Love (John David Souther) 4:23
3  The Last In Love (John David Souther) 3:42
4  White Rhythm And Blues (John David Souther) 4:41
5  Til The Bars Burn Down (John David Souther; Glenn Frey) 4:43
6  The Moon Just Turned Blue (John David Souther) 2:07
7  Songs Of Love (John David Souther) 4:20
8  Fifteen Bucks (John David Souther; Waddy Wachtel; Rick Marotta; Danny Kortchmar; Don Grolnick; Kenny Edwards) 3:24
9  Trouble In Paradise (John David Souther) 4:26


BassKenny Edwards
DrumsRick Marotta
GuitarDanny Kortchmar
GuitarWaddy Wachtel
GuitarDan Dugmore
Steel GuitarDan Dugmore
PianoDon Grolnick
SaxDavid Sanborn
VocalsJohn David Souther

Other Musicians

2 If You Don\’t Want My Love

DrumsMike Botts
GuitarDon Felder
OrganJai Winding

4 White Rhythm And Blues

HarpJohn Sebastian
Background VocalsJorge Calderon
Background VocalsPhil Everly
Background VocalsWaddy Wachtel

7 Songs Of Love

Acoustic GuitarFred Tackett

9 Trouble In Paradise

SaxTom Scott

Liner Notes

Producer – John David Souther
Engineer (Additional) – Loyd Clifft
Recorded By – Lee Herschberg

Art Direction – Jimmy Wachtel
Photography By (Cover) – Jim Shea
Photography By (Sleeve) – Gayle Simon, Laurie Bird

Record Company – Columbia Records
Copyright (c) – CBS Inc.
Phonographic Copyright (p) – CBS Inc.
Manufactured By – Columbia Records
Manufactured By – CBS Inc.
Recorded At – Warner Bros. Recording Studios
Mastered At – Warner Bros. Recording Studios
Mastered At – Customatrix
Pressed By – Columbia Records Pressing Plant, Pitman