1978 Poco – Legend

Legend is the eleventh studio album by the American country rock band Poco, released in 1978.

After ABC Records cancelled the release of Poco’s planned 13th album The Last Roundup. the three remaining members of the band agreed to take a break. Rusty Young and Paul Cotton formed a new group called the Cotton-Young Band and prepared this album as a duo. However, ABC acquired the album and then decided to continue to use the name “Poco” for the band. When the album became successful, Poco drummer George Grantham found himself forced out of Poco without ever having quit the group.

“Crazy Love” and “Heart of the Night”, written and sung by Young and Cotton respectively, became the group’s two biggest hits to date. After “Crazy Love” was released as a single, ABC Records was acquired by MCA Records, and the record’s stunning commercial success was attributed by some to the efforts of ABC’s promotional staff to prove their value to MCA. Meanwhile, the band started to stray from its distinct country rock sound, heading towards a more mainstream, commercially applauded soft rock and pop sound. Other noteworthy album cuts were “Spellbound,” “Little Darlin’,” “Legend,” and “Barbados,” the latter being the inspiration for the (at the time) yet to be released Beach Boys comeback hit “Kokomo”.

The cover art for Legend was done by Phil Hartman, the brother of Poco manager John Hartmann; Phil Hartman worked as a graphic designer creating album covers for his brother’s clients (including America) while attempting to break out as a comic.


1  Boomerang (Paul Cotton) 3:52
2  Spellbound (Rusty Young) 5:16
3  Barbados (Paul Cotton) 3:34
4  Little Darlin’ (Rusty Young) 3:46
5  Love Comes Love Goes (Rusty Young) 3:56
6  Heart Of The Night (Paul Cotton) 4:54
7  Crazy Love (Rusty Young) 2:56
8  The Last Goodbye (Rusty Young) 5:42
9  Legend (Rusty Young) 4:14



BassCharlie Harrison
DrumsSteve Chapman
GuitarPaul Cotton
GuitarRusty Young
Pedal Steel GuitarRusty Young
KeyboardsJai Winding
SynthesizerMichael Boddicker
SaxPhil Kenzie
PercussionSteve Forman
Background VocalsCharlie Harrison
VocalsPaul Cotton
VocalsRusty Young

Other Musicians

1 Boomerang

KeyboardsTom Stephenson

3 Barbados

KeyboardsTom Stephenson

5 Love Comes Love Goes

KeyboardsTom Stephenson

Liner Notes

Producer – Richard Sanford Orshoff
Producer (Assistant) – Linda Safan
Engineer – David Henson
Engineer (Assistant) – Barbara Issak, Jim Hill
Engineer (Mixing) – Joe Chiccarelli

Design (Cover) – Phil Hartman

Phonographic Copyright (p) – ABC Records
Copyright (c) – ABC Records
Pressed By – Specialty Records Corporation
Recorded At – Crystal Sound
Recorded At – The Village Recorder
Mixed At – The Village Recorder
Mastered At – Masterdisk