1979 Nigel Olsson – Nigel

Nigel is the fourth solo album by Nigel Olsson. It was released in 1979 on Bang Records.

Nigel Olsson (born 10 February 1949) is an English rock drummer and singer best known for his long-time affiliation with Elton John. A dynamic drummer and backing vocalist, Olsson helped establish the Elton John sound as a member of John’s original power trio alongside bassist Dee Murray. When not working with John, Olsson has taken up the role of a session musician. Olsson has composed, recorded, and produced albums for his own solo career.


1  Little Bit Of Soap (Bert Berns) 3:27
2  You Know I’ll Always Love You (Nigel Olsson, Jozy Pollock, Wayne Olsson) 3:13
3  Dancin’ Shoes (Carl Storie) 3:45
4  Part Of The Chosen Few (Paul Davis, Nigel Olsson) 3:13
5  Say Goodbye To Hollywood (Billy Joel) 3:28
6  All It Takes (David Foster, Nigel Olsson) 4:24
7  Thinking Of You (Paul Davis) 3:40
8  Living In A Fantasy (Nigel Olsson, Jozy Pollock) 3:14
9  Cassey Blue-Au Revoir (David Foster, Nigel Olsson, Ronn Price) 6:28



Bass David Winteur
Bass Don Barrett
Bass Joe Chemay
Bass Ray Ransom
Drums Nigel Olsson
Drums Mike Baird
Drums James Stroud
Guitar Eddie Patterson
Guitar Jay Graydon
Guitar Richie Rising
Guitar Richie Zito
Guitar Ronn Price
Guitar Thom Fowle
Keyboards David Foster
Keyboards Paul Shaffer
Keyboards Michael Boddicker
Keyboards Paul Davis
Keyboards Alan Feingold
Percussion James Stroud
Percussion Nigel Olsson
Percussion Ray Cooper
Background Vocals Paul Davis
Background Vocals Brenda Russell
Background Vocals Bruce Johnston
Background Vocals Curt Becher
Background Vocals Jim Haas
Background Vocals Jon Joyce
Background Vocals Marilyn Scott
Background Vocals Rhonda Riveria
Background Vocals Stephanie Spruill
Vocals Nigel Olsson

Liner Notes

Producer – Curt Becher Paul Davis (Tracks 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 7, 8, 9)
Producer – Nigel Olsson (Tracks 2, 4, 5, 6, 8, 9)
Producer – Curt Becher (Track 5)
Producer (Executive) – Ilene Berns
Arranged By [Orchestral Arrangements] – David Foster
Arranged By [Orchestral Arrangements] – Nigel Olsson (Track 8)
Engineer – Ed Seay, Kevin Beamish
Engineer (Assistant Engineer) – James Griffin, James Hill, Richard Wells
Mastered By – Glenn Meadows
Orchestra – The Martyn Ford Orchestra

Art Direction, Design – Mike McCarty
Photography By – Claude Mougin

Distributed By – CBS Records
Phonographic Copyright (p) – CBS Inc.
Copyright (c) – CBS Inc.
Recorded At – Web IV Studios
Recorded At – Crystal Sound
Recorded At – Axis Sound Studio
Recorded At – Malaco Studios
Recorded At – Studio One, Doraville
Mastered At – Masterfonics
Pressed By – Columbia Records Pressing Plant, Pitman