2004 Joe Nichols – Revelation

Revelation is the third studio album by country music artist Joe Nichols, released in 2004 on Universal South Records. It produced two singles on the Billboard Hot Country Songs charts: “If Nobody Believed in You” at number 10 and “What’s a Guy Gotta Do” at number 4. Also included is “Farewell Party”, a cover of a Gene Watson hit single.

“A Singer in a Band” was previously recorded by Mark Wills on his 2003 album And the Crowd Goes Wild. “Don’t Ruin It for the Rest of Us” was also recorded the same year by Mark Chesnutt on his album Savin’ the Honky Tonk. “If I Ever Get Her Back” was previously recorded by Billy Yates on his 2001 album If I Could Go Back. “No Time to Cry” was recorded by Iris DeMent on her 1993 album My Life, and the title track was originally recorded by Waylon Jennings on his 1972 album Ladies Love Outlaws. In addition, The Oak Ridge Boys later recorded “The Shade” on their 2011 album It’s Only Natural.


1  The Shade (Shane Decker; Troy Jones) 2:47
2  Singer In A Band (Tim Mensy; Gary Harrison) 3:13
3  Don\’t Ruin It For The Rest Of Us (Annie Tate; Sam Tate; Jimmy Ritchey; Georgia Middleman) 3:39
4  I Wish That Wasn\’t All (Chris DuBois; Ashley Gorley) 3:36
5  If I Ever Get Her Back (Billy Yates; Billy Lawson) 2:48
6  If Nobody Believed In You (Harley Allen) 3:56
7  Farewell Party (Lawton Williams) 4:39
8  Things Like That (These Days) (Mike Dekle; Byron Hill) 3:30
9  Revelation (Bobby Braddock) 3:30
10  What\’s A Guy Gotta Do (Don Sampson; Joe Nichols; Kelley Lovelace) 2:22
11  No Time To Cry (Iris DeMent) 4:14



BassDavid Hungate
BassBrent Rowan
DrumsShannon Forrest
GuitarRob Ickes
GuitarBrent Rowan
GuitarBrian Spradlin
Steel GuitarTerry Crisp
Steel GuitarDan Dugmore
Steel GuitarJohn Hughey
Steel GuitarTommy White
12 String GuitarBrent Rowan
Acoustic GuitarBrent Rowan
Acoustic GuitarBryan Sutton
MandolinBryan Sutton
KeyboardsTim Lauer
KeyboardsGordon Mote
KeyboardsBrent Rowan
FiddleStuart Duncan
FiddleLarry Franklin
PercussionBrent Rowan
Background VocalsWes Hightower
Background VocalsLiana Manis
VocalsJoe Nichols

Liner Notes

Producer – Brent Rowan

Distributed By – Universal Music & Video Distribution, Corp.
Phonographic Copyright (p) – Universal South Records, LLC
Copyright (c) – Universal South Records, LLC