1980 Pleasure – Special Things

Special Things is the sixth album by the band Pleasure, released in 1980

Pleasure was a band from Portland, Oregon. Blending soul, funk and jazz with a street edge, they became a cult group on the underground black music scene of the late 1970s. They are perhaps best known for their 1979 hit, “Glide” from the album Future Now.


1  Now You Choose Me (Donald Hepburn; Michael Hepburn; Nate Phillips) 4:56
2  Special Things (Nate Phillips) 4:37
3  Yearnin’ Burnin’ (Bruce Carter; Donald Hepburn; Michael Hepburn; Marlon McClain; Nate Phillips) 4:56
4  Law Of The Raw (Douglas Lewis; Michael Hepburn) 2:50
5  Take A Chance (Michael Hepburn; Nate Phillips) 6:37
6  Living Without You (Fred Reed Jr; Michael Hepburn) 4:30
7  Spread That Feelin’ (All Around) (Michael Hepburn; Nate Phillips) 4:20
8  You Are My Star (Michael Hepburn) 2:11



BassNate Phillips
DrumsBruce Carter
GuitarMarlon McClain
KeyboardsDonald Hepburn
KeyboardsMichael Hepburn
SynthesizerTim Gorman
FlugelhornJerry Hey
FlugelhornTony Collins
SaxLarry Williams
SaxDennis Springer
TrumpetJerry Hey
TrumpetTony Collins
PercussionBruce Smith
Background VocalsNate Phillips
Background VocalsDonald Hepburn
Background VocalsJulia Tillman Waters
Background VocalsMarty McCall
Background VocalsMaxine Willard Waters
VocalsMichael Hepburn
VocalsSherman Davis

Liner Notes

Producer – Michael Hepburn, Nate Phillips, Phil Kaffel
Mastered By – Nick Robbins

Art Direction, Design – Phil Carroll
Photography By – Phil Bray

Recorded At – Fantasy Studios
Mixed At – Fantasy Studios
Mastered At – The Mastering Lab
Published By – Three Hundred Sixty Music