1979 Lowell George – Thanks I’ll Eat It Here

Thanks, I’ll Eat it Here is the title of the only solo album by the late rock and roll singer-songwriter Lowell George. While George is best known for his work with Little Feat, by 1977 Lowell felt that they were moving increasingly into jazz-rock, a form in which he felt little interest. As a result, he began working on his own album. Thanks I’ll Eat it Here is an eclectic mix of styles reminiscent of Little Feat’s earlier albums – in particular Dixie Chicken, on which the track Two Trains originally appeared. The album was released just before the death of Lowell George in 1979 and has cover art by Neon Park (a feature of almost all Little Feat albums) containing several pop-/cult references including a picnic scene, mirroring Édouard Manet’s “Le déjeuner sur l’herbe”, which shows Bob Dylan, Fidel Castro and Marlene Dietrich as Der Blaue Engel with an open copy of Howl beside them.


1  What Do You Want The Girl To Do (Allen Toussaint) 4:48
2  Honest Man (Lowell George, Fred Tackett) 3:45
3  Two Trains (Lowell George) 4:36
4  Can’t Stand The Rain (Ann Peebles, Don Bryant, Bernard Miller) 3:21
5  Cheek To Cheek (Lowell George, Van Dyke Parks, Martin Kibbee) 2:24
6  Easy Money (Rickie Lee Jones) 3:31
7  20 Million Things (Lowell George, Jed Levy) 2:51
8  Find A River (Fred Tackett) 3:44
9  Himmler’s Ring (Jimmy Webb) 2:31
10  Heartache (Lowell George, Ivan Ulz) 2:28


Bass Chuck Rainey
Bass Dennis Belfield
Bass Paul Stallworth
Drums Jeffrey Porcaro
Drums Jim Keltner
Drums Mike Baird
Drums Richie Hayward
Drums Chili Charles
Drums Floyd Sneed
Guitar Fred Tackett
Guitar Luis Damian
Guitar Dean Parks
Guitar Steve Bruton
Guitar Ron Koss
Guitar Lowell George
Keyboards James Newton-Howard
Keyboards David Paich
Keyboards Bill Payne
Keyboards Jimmie Greenspoon
Organ Peggy Sandvig
Piano Gordon De Witty
Piano David Foster
Piano Nicky Hopkins
Horn Bruce Paulson
Horns Joel Peskin
Sax Jerry Jumonville
Sax John Phillips
Trumpet Steve Madaio
Harp Arthur Gerst
Violin Bobby Bruce
Background Vocals Maxayn Lewis
Background Vocals Dixon, Maxine
Background Vocals The Waters
Background Vocals John David Souther
Background Vocals Herb Pedersen
Background Vocals Robert Gutierrez
Background Vocals Bonnie Raitt
Vocals Valerie Carter
Vocals Lowell George

Liner Notes

Producer – Lowell George
Creative Director – Elizabeth George
Engineer – Donn Landee, George Massenburg
Engineer (Assistant) – Billy Youdelman, Bruce Botnick, Doug Botnick
Mastered By – Darrell Johnson
Mixed By – Ray Thompson

Art Direction, Painting – Neon Park
Design – Brad Kanawyer, Michael Hollyfield
Photography – Bob Marks, Elizabeth George, Nancy Goldfarb

Mastered At JVC Cutting Center
Phonographic Copyright Warner Bros Records Inc
Copyright Warner Bros Records Inc