1979 Alton McClain & Destiny – Alton McClain

Alton McClain is an album by Alton McClain & Destiny released in 1979.

Alton McClain and Destiny was an American disco girl group from Los Angeles, California. Formed in 1978, the trio was composed of McClain, Delores Marie “D’Marie” Warren, and Robyrda Stiger. They signed to Polydor Records in the year of their formation and Frank Wilson produced their debut set. It was released as a self-titled album early in 1979 but then was repackaged under the title It Must Be Love several months later. The title track was released as a single and charted, but the second album did not sell well. The group was dropped less than a year after its release and they split in 1981.


1  Crazy Love (John Footman; Terri McFaddin) 6:59
2  Sweet Temptation (John Footman; Terri McFaddin; Judy Wieder) 6:00
3  Taking My Love For Granted (Eddie Brown; Jeff Labes) 3:22
4  My Empty Room (John Footman; Judy Wieder) 3:54
5  The Power Of Love (Angela Winbush) 4:35
6  Push And Pull (John Footman; Judy Wieder) 5:27
7  It Must Be Love (John Footman; Judy Wieder) 4:45
8  God Said, \’Love Ye One Another\’ (Terri McFaddin; Terry Bradford) 4:35



BassWilliam Nelson
BassEddie Watkins Jr
BassNathan Watts
DrumsAlvin Taylor
DrumsEd Greene
DrumsJames Gadson
DrumsOllie E. Brown
DrumsQuentin Dennard
GuitarLee Ritenour
GuitarWah Wah Watson
DrumsRaymond Pounds
GuitarPaul Jackson Jr
GuitarClarence Drayton
GuitarMichael McGloiry
GuitarMitch Holder
KeyboardsClydene Jackson
KeyboardsGreg Phillinganes
KeyboardsJohn Barnes
KeyboardsJohn Footman
KeyboardsRene Moore
KeyboardsRonald Coleman
KeyboardsTerry Bradford
SynthesizerMichael Boddicker
PercussionEddie Brown
PercussionJack Ashford
VocalsAlton McClain
VocalsD\’Marie Warren
VocalsRobyrda Stiger

Liner Notes

Producer – Frank Wilson
Co-producer – John Footman
Arranged By (Horns, Strings) – Webster Lewis (Track 2)
Arranged By (Horns) – Bruce Miller (Tracks 4, 6)
Arranged By (Strings) – Webster Lewis (Tracks 1, 3, 5)
Coordinator (Project) – Tina Meeks
Engineer (Assistant) – Leanard Jackson
Engineer (Mastering) – John Golden
Engineer (Mixing) – Frank Wilson, Todd Fisher
Engineer (Recording) – Todd Fisher

Art Direction – AGI, Mike Doud
Design – Philip Chiang
Photography By – Olivier Ferrand

Produced For – Spec-O-Lite Productions
Manufactured By – Polydor Incorporated
Marketed By – Polydor Incorporated
Distributed By – Polydor Incorporated
Phonographic Copyright (p) – Polydor Incorporated
Copyright (c) – Polydor Incorporated