1977 Jack Ashford – Hotel Sheet

Hotel Sheet is an album by Jack Ashford, released in 1977.

Jack Ashford (born May 18, 1934), known to his friends as Jashford, is an American musician widely known as the percussionist for Motown Records’ in-house Funk Brothers band during the 1960s and early 1970s. Ashford is most famous for playing the tambourine on hundreds of Motown recordings. His definitive performance is on “War” by Edwin Starr; other notable songs Ashford played tambourine on include “Nowhere to Run” by Martha & the Vandellas, “You Can’t Hurry Love” by The Supremes, “I Heard It Through the Grapevine” by Marvin Gaye, and “Don’t Leave Me This Way” by Thelma Houston. He also played vibes, shakers, and the marimba on the label’s recordings, such as The Miracles’ “Ooh Baby Baby”. The early 1980s saw production work from Ashford but it proved to be the end of his career in music. However, in 2014, he made a recent appearance on The Secret Sisters’ second album Put Your Needle Down


1  Hotel Sheet (Jack Ashford) 5:29
2  I’ll Fly To Your Open Arms (Jack Ashford; George Roundtree) 4:00
3  This Ain’t Just Another Dance Song (Jack Ashford; Charles Leverett; Lorraine Chandler) 3:31
4  Hi Mom Hi Al (Jack Ashford) 4:56
5  Shar (Jack Ashford) 3:47
6  Get Right On Top (Cause I Need Someone) (Jack Ashford; Art Stewart) 5:57
7  Baby I’m So Glad (Jack Ashford) 3:15
8  Funky Disco Party (Jack Ashford; Charlene Ashford) 3:51



BassEddie Watkins Jr
BassJerry Knight
BassMike Wiggins
DrumsJoe Luiz
DrumsLarry Tolbert
DrumsUriel Jones
GuitarWah Wah Watson
GuitarEddie Willis
GuitarGreg Moore
GuitarLouie Thomas
GuitarRobert White
GuitarRod Gibson
KeyboardsJack Ashford
KeyboardsEarl van Dyke
KeyboardsGeorge Roundtree
KeyboardsMilchio Leviev
StringsGordon Staples
VibraphoneJack Ashford
PercussionEddie Brown
PercussionJack Ashford
PercussionShonda Akiem
Background VocalsBetty Jones
Background VocalsGwanda Hambrick
Background VocalsLinda Law
Background VocalsLinda McCrary
Background VocalsRence
Background VocalsShar Ashford
Background VocalsSundray Tucker
Background VocalsSylvia Smith
Background VocalsTerry Hendricks

Other Musicians

Horns, Strings – Detroit Symphony Orchestra

Liner Notes

Producer – Jack Ashford
Co-producer – Art Stewart
Arranged By (Horns, Strings) – Paul Riser (Tracks 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 7, 8)
Arranged By (Horns, Strings) – Willie Shorter (Track 4)
Arranged By (Rhythm) – Jack Ashford
Engineer (Assistant) – Ira Leslie
Engineer (Mixing) – Art Stewart, Grover Helsley, Jack Ashford
Engineer (Recording) – Art Stewart

Artwork, Design (Cover), Photography By – Alvin R. Hogan

Recorded At – Marvin Gaye Studio
Mixed At – One Step Up Recording Studio
Mixed At – Wally Heider Recording Studio, Los Angeles
Mixed At – RCA Studios, Hollywood
Distributed By – Magic Disc Distributing
Phonographic Copyright (p) – Magic Disc Records In