1987 Vince Gill – The Way Back Home

The Way Back Home is the second studio album by American country music artist Vince Gill. It was released in 1987 by RCA Records and it produced four chart singles on the Billboard country charts. In order of release, these were “Cinderella” (#5), “Let’s Do Something (#16), “Everybody’s Sweetheart” (#11) and “The Radio” (#39). After the final single, Gill left RCA’s roster in favor of MCA Nashville, where in 1989 he released his fourth album, When I Call Your Name.


1  Everybody\’s Sweetheart (Vince Gill) 2:50
2  The Way Back Home (Vince Gill) 3:54
3  Cinderella (Reed Nielsen) 3:34
4  Let\’s Do Something (Vince Gill; Reed Nielsen) 3:17
5  The Radio (Vince Gill; Reed Nielsen) 4:04
6  Baby That\’s Tough (Vince Gill; Guy Clark) 3:38
7  Losing Your Love (Vince Gill; Hank DeVito; Kye Fleming) 4:46
8  It Doesn\’t Matter Anymore (Paul Anka) 3:35
9  Something\’s Missing (Vince Gill; Michael Clark) 4:30



BassLeland Sklar
BassNeil Stubenhaus
Upright BassRoy Huskey Jr
DrumsCarlos Vega
GuitarVince Gill
GuitarGeorge Doering
BanjoVince Gill
DobroVince Gill
MandolinVince Gill
Pedal Steel GuitarJay Dee Maness
PianoPhilip Aaberg
PianoRandy Kerber
SynthesizerAlan Pasqua
SynthesizerJim Lang
FiddleByron Berline
PercussionLeonard Arnold
Background VocalsAndrew Gold
Background VocalsBonnie Raitt
Background VocalsEmmylou Harris
Background VocalsJanis Gill
Background VocalsJerry Whitman
Background VocalsJim Haas
Background VocalsJoe Schemay
Background VocalsKenny Edwards
Background VocalsKevin Dorsey
Background VocalsKristine Arnold
Background VocalsReed Nielsen
Background VocalsRodney Crowell
Background VocalsRosanne Cash
VocalsVince Gill

Liner Notes

Producer – Richard Landis
Reissue Producer – Mike Ragogna
Mastered By – Elliott Federman
Mixed By – Ed Thacker
Recorded By – Csaba Petocz