1979 Little Feat – Down On The Farm

Down on the Farm is the seventh studio album by the American rock band Little Feat, released in 1979. It was also their last original work for nine years. The band announced their break-up in June 1979 during the making of the album, and a fortnight later the band’s founder and guiding light Lowell George died from a heart attack brought on by years of overindulgence. Feat would reform in 1987.

The cover shows one of Neon Park’s several duck-girls – an allusion to “The Finishing Touch” by painter Gil Elvgren.


1  Down On The Farm (Paul Barrere) 4:10
2  Six Feet Of Snow (Lowell George; Keith Godchaux) 2:27
3  Perfect Imperfection (Paul Barrere; Tom Snow) 3:42
4  Kokomo (Lowell George) 2:51
5  Be One Now (Lowell George; Fred Tackett) 3:48
6  Straight From The Heart (Lowell George; Bill Payne) 4:47
7  Front Page News (Lowell George; Bill Payne) 5:45
8  Wake Up Dreaming (Bill Payne; Fran Payne) 4:01
9  Feel The Groove (Sam Clayton; Gordon De Witty) 4:37



BassKenny Gradney
DrumsRichie Hayward
GuitarPaul Barrere
GuitarLowell George
GuitarRobben Ford
GuitarDavid Lindley
Steel GuitarPete Kleinow
KeyboardsBill Payne
KeyboardsGordon De Witty
SynthesizerBill Payne
SaxJerry Jumonville
TromboneLee Thornburg
TrumpetLee Thornburg
Background VocalsRichie Hayward
Background VocalsRosemary Butler
Background VocalsFran Payne
Background VocalsBonnie Raitt
Background VocalsDan Smith
Background VocalsJulia Tillman Waters
Background VocalsLuther Waters
Background VocalsOren Waters
Background VocalsMaxine Willard Waters
PercussionSam Clayton

Other Musicians

1 Down On The Farm

VocalsPaul Barrere

2 Six Feet Of Snow

VocalsLowell George

3 Perfect Imperfection

VocalsPaul Barrere

4 Kokomo

Guitar (solo)Fred Tackett
VocalsLowell George

5 Be One Now

VocalsLowell George

6 Straight From The Heart

VocalsLowell George

7 Front Page News

VocalsLowell George

8 Wake Up Dreaming

VocalsBill Payne

9 Feel The Groove

DrumsEarl Palmer
VocalsSam Clayton

Liner Notes

Producer – Lowell George

Art Direction, Design – Eddy Herch
Art Direction, Painting (Cover Painting) – Neon Park
Photography By (Album Coordination) – Elizabeth George
Photography By (Back Cover) – Susan Rothchild

Copyright (c) – Warner Bros. Records Inc.
Phonographic Copyright (p) – Warner Bros. Records Inc.
Printed By – Artone Press
Marketed By – WEA Records Ltd