1978 The Sylvers – Forever Yours

Forever Yours is the seventh album by the Los Angeles, California-based R&B group The Sylvers. Originally recorded when the Sylvers were still signed to Capitol Records, big brother Leon took over on production. Capitol did not like the new sound and rejected the album and dropped them. The Sylvers shopped the material elsewhere and by mid-1978 had signed with Casablanca Records. This would be their most critically acclaimed album, it would also be the last album Leon would be involved with for the family until 1981’s album Concept as he would leave to become in-house producer for Dick Griffey’s SOLAR Records. Two singles were released. “Don’t Stop, Get Off” charted in late 1978 at number 15 on the US R&B charts. “Forever Yours” was the second single released in 1979 and didn’t chart at all due to management shake-ups at Casablanca, even though it was sent to both pop and R&B radio stations.


1  Don\’t Stop, Get Off (Edmund Sylvers; Foster Sylvers; James Sylvers; Leon Sylvers; Ricky Sylvers) 3:12
2  Love Changes (Leon Sylvers) 2:45
3  Forever Yours (Edmund Sylvers; Leon Sylvers) 3:47
4  Swept For You Baby (Williams Robinson Jr) 3:28
5  Play This One Last Record (Edmund Sylvers; Leon Sylvers; Patricia Sylvers) 4:32
6  Come Dance With Me (James Sylvers) 3:12
7  Come On Down To My House (James Sylvers; Leon Sylvers) 3:20
8  Diamonds Are Rare (Leon Sylvers) 2:58
9  Love Won\’t Let Me Go (Leon Sylvers; Zachary Perry) 3:43
10  Just A Little Bit Longer (Gene Dozier; Leon Sylvers) 3:06



BassFoster Sylvers
BassJames Sylvers
DrumsEd Greene
DrumsSteve Gadd
DrumsJohn Guerin
GuitarJay Graydon
GuitarHerman Brown
GuitarMitch Holder
GuitarRicky Sylvers
GuitarRobben Ford
GuitarTim May
KeyboardsH Grusin
KeyboardsJames Sylvers
KeyboardsPatricia Sylvers
KeyboardsRichard Tee
KeyboardsReginald Burke
KeyboardsSylvester Rivers
SynthesizerMichael Boddicker
SaxDon Menza
SaxErnie Watts
SaxJim Horn
SaxPete Christlieb
SaxTerry Harrington
TromboneChuck Findley
TromboneDick Hyde
TrumpetChuck Findley
TrumpetGene Goe
TrumpetOliver Mitchell
TrumpetOscar Brashear
WoodwindsJim Horn
WoodwindsQuitman Denis
WoodwindsTom Scott
PercussionGary Coleman
PercussionVictor Feldman

Liner Notes

Producer – Al Ross, Bob Cullen
Producer – Leon Sylvers (Tracks 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 9, 10)
Producer – James Sylvers (Tracks 6)
Arranged By – James Hughart (Tracks 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 10)
Arranged By – Larry Farrow (Tracks 7, 8, 9)
Engineer – Hank Cicalo
Executive Coordinator – Cecil Holmes
Mastered By – Brian Gardner, Chris Bellman, Ken Perry

Artwork By (Graphics) – Gribbitt!
Photography (Back Cover) – Claude Mougin
Photography (Front Cover) – Frederic Valentine

Mastered at Capitol Records
Mastered at Allen Zentz Recording, Hollywood
Recorded at Capitol Records, Hollywood, California