1989 Soundtrack – Lethal Weapon 2

Lethal Weapon 2 is a 1989 American buddy cop action comedy film directed by Richard Donner, and starring Mel Gibson, Danny Glover, Joe Pesci, Patsy Kensit, Derrick O’Connor and Joss Ackland. It is a sequel to the 1987 film Lethal Weapon and the second installment in the Lethal Weapon series.

Gibson and Glover respectively reprise their roles as LAPD officers Martin Riggs and Roger Murtaugh, who protect an irritating federal witness (Pesci), while taking on a gang of South African drug dealers hiding behind diplomatic immunity. The film was nominated for an Academy Award for Best Sound Editing (Robert G. Henderson). The film received mostly positive reviews and earned more than $227 million worldwide.

The soundtrack was released on Warner Bros. Records and was written and performed by Michael Kamen, Eric Clapton, and David Sanborn.


1  Cheer Down (George Harrison, Tom Petty) 4:08
2  Still Cruisin’ (After All These Years) (Mike Love, Terry Melcher) 3:35
3  Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door (Bob Dylan) 4:57
4  Riggs (Michael Kamen, Eric Clapton) 5:16
5  The Embassy (Michael Kamen, Eric Clapton) 5:38
6  Riggs And Roger (David Sanborn) 5:52
7  Leo (Michael Kamen) 3:43
8  Goodnight Rika (Michael Kamen, Eric Clapton) 4:04
9  The Stilt House (Michael Kamen, Eric Clapton) 4:21
10  Medley: The Shipyard, Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door (David Sanborn, Bob Dylan) 4:45



BassTom Barney
DrumsSonny Emory
GuitarEric Clapton
KeyboardsGreg Phillinganes
KeyboardsDavid Sanborn
SaxMichael Kamen

Other Musicians

1 Cheer Down

GuitarGeorge Harrison
VocalsGeorge Harrison

2 Still Cruisin’ (After All These Years)

MusiciansThe Beach Boys

3 Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door

SaxDavid Sanborn
VocalsRandy Crawford

7 Leo

TrumpetLew Soloff

10 Medley: The Shipyard, Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door

VocalsArnold McCuller
VocalsEric Clapton
VocalsRandy Crawford

Liner Notes

Producer – Christopher Brooks, Michael Kamen, Stephen McLaughlin
Producer – George Harrison, Jeff Lynne (Track 1)
Producer – Terry Melcher (Track 2)
Producer – Michael J Powell (Track 3)
Producer (Assistant) – Bibi Green
Producer (Executive) – Gary LeMel
Engineer (Second) – Bruce Calder, Daren Chadwick, Lee Manning
Mixed By – James Guthrie (Tracks 4, 5, 7, 9)
Recorded By (Album), Mixed By (Album) – Stephen McLaughlin (Tracks 1 to 3, 6, 8, 10)
Recorded By (Orchestra) – Robert Fernandez

Design – Janet Levinson
Photography By – John Shannon

Copyright (c) – Warner Bros. Records Inc.
Copyright (c) – WEA International Inc.
Copyright (c) – Warner Bros. Inc.
Phonographic Copyright (p) – Warner Bros. Records Inc.
Phonographic Copyright (p) – WEA International Inc.
Phonographic Copyright (p) – Capitol Records, Inc.
Recorded At – The Burbank Studios
Manufactured By – WEA Manufacturing
Pressed By – Specialty Records Corporation