1988 Brenda Russell – Get Here

Get Here is the fourth studio album by the American singer/songwriter Brenda Russell. Released in 1988, it is Russell’s most successful album to date and includes her hit single “Piano in the Dark” as well as the minor hit title track, “Get Here,” which became an international success for Oleta Adams three years later.

After the release of her third album, Two Eyes (1983), Russell moved to Stockholm, Sweden and began writing songs for her fourth album in 1984. Working with several producers and recorded at ten different studios in Stockholm and Los Angeles, the album was ultimately released in 1988 and saw Russell return to the A&M Records label that had released her first two solo albums in 1979 and 1981 (her 1983 album had been released via Warner Bros.). The album peaked at #49 on the US Billboard 200 and #20 on the Billboard R&B chart.

The first single from the album was the ballad “Piano in the Dark”, released in February 1988. The single, which featured vocals by Joe “Bean” Esposito, became (and remains) Russell’s biggest hit, peaking at #6 on the US Billboard 100 and was also a Top 30 hit in the UK (#23), as well as earning Grammy nominations for “Song of the Year” and “Best Pop Duo Performance” (Russell would also garner a nomination for “Best Pop Female Vocal” for Get Here). Other singles from the album include “Le Restaurant” (featuring David Sanborn on saxophone) and the dance track “Gravity”. The title track of the album was also released as a single and was a minor R&B hit. It was later recorded by Oleta Adams and became a huge trans-Atlantic hit for her in 1991 (US #5, UK #4).


Gravity (Brenda Russell, Gardner Cole) 3:28
2  Just A Believer (Brenda Russell, Jeff Hull) 3:55
Piano In The Dark (Brenda Russell, Jeff Hull, Scott Cutler) 5:20
4  This Time I Need You (Brenda Russell, Joe Turano) 4:55
5  Make My Day (Brenda Russell) 4:25
6  Le Restaurant (Brenda Russell) 4:33
7  Midnight Eyes (Brenda Russell) 3:41
8  Get Here (Brenda Russell) 4:57


1 Gravity

Drums (programming) Gardner Cole
Guitar Paul Jackson Jr
Synthesizer Gardner Cole
Synthesizer Wayne Linsey
Vocals Brenda Russell

2 Just A Believer

Drums (programming) Jeff Hull
Synthesizer Jeff Hull
Sax Dave Koz
Vocals Brenda Russell

3 Piano In The Dark

Drums (programming) Jeff Hull
Guitar James Harrah
Piano Russell Ferrante
Synthesizer Jeff Hull
Synthesizer Michael Ruff
Background Vocals Joe Esposito
Vocals Brenda Russell

4 This Time I Need You

Drums Per Lindvall
Guitar Henrik Janson
Guitar Peter Ekberg
Synthesizer Anders Neglin
Synthesizer Larry Williams
Synthesizer Peter Ljung
Background Vocals Joe Turano
Vocals Brenda Russell

5 Make My Day

Bass Nathan East
Drums Per Lindvall
Guitar (solo) Henrik Janson
Guitar Donald Griffin
Synthesizer Larry Williams
Synthesizer Kevin Toney
Synthesizer Peter Ljung
Horns Larry Williams
Vocals Brenda Russell

6 Le Restaurant

Bass Jimmy Haslip
Drums Vinnie Colaiuta
Piano Russell Ferrante
Synthesizer Russell Ferrante
Flugelhorn Jerry Hey
Sax David Sanborn
Trumpet Jerry Hey
Vocals Brenda Russell

7 Midnight Eyes

Bass Ed Brown
Drums (programming) Jeff Hull
Synthesizer Jeff Hull
Guitar Dann Huff
Vocals Brenda Russell

8 Get Here

Bass Sam Bengtsson
Drums Ake Sundqvist
Guitar Henrik Janson
Guitar Janne Schaffer
Rhodes Joe Sample
Synthesizer Peter Ljung
Synthesizer Russell Ferrante
Vocals Brenda Russell

Other Musicians

The Jam Squad (Track 1)
The Jamettes (Track 2)

Liner Notes

Producer – Brenda Russell
Producer – Stanley Clarke (Tracks 1, 2)
Producer – Jeff Hull (Track 3)
Producer – Andre Fischer (Tracks 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8)
Producer – Peter Ekberg (Tracks 4, 5, 8)
Producer (Executive) – Brenda Russell
Producer (Assistant) – Marsha Burns  
Coordinator – Marsha Burns
Mastered By – Doug Sax
Mixed By – Csaba Petocz (Track 1)
Mixed By – Bill Schnee (Tracks 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8)
Recorded By – Bill Schnee, Csaba Petocz, Gary Wagner, Jan Ugand, Steve Sykes
Recorded By (Assisted By) – Brad Stevens, Debbie Johnson, Jim Dineen, Joe Schiff, Micajah Ryan, Michael Ross, Mike Edwards, Reginald Dozier, Steve Ford, Toni Greene

Art Direction – Chuck Beeson
Design, Photography By – Donald Krieger
Photography – Raul Vega

Mastered At The Mastering Lab
Phonographic Copyright A&M Records Inc
Copyright A&M Records Inc

Performer – The Jam Squad (Track 1)
Performer – The Jamettes (Track 2)