2003 Lyle Lovett ‎– Smile (Songs From The Movies)

Smile is a 2003 compilation of songs performed by Lyle Lovett for various movie soundtracks between 1992 and 2002. Smile was the fifth project by Lovett that did not introduce a new collection of his own songs during the expanse of time between his 1996 Grammy winning The Road to Ensenada and My Baby Don’t Tolerate (released later in 2003). Other projects included a 1998 cover album, a 1999 live album, a 2000 movie soundtrack, and a 2001 anthology. The release of Smile led some reviewers to speculate the Lovett might be experiencing some sort of writer’s block. Another possibility is that Lovett was taking it easy following a 2002 injury from an accident involving a bull on a family farm in Texas. During the incident Lovett’s leg was broken in 20 places. A fracture to his thumb also left him unable to play guitar for an extended period..


1 Blue Skies (Irving Berlin) 3:12
2 Straighten Up And Fly Right (Irving Mills, Nat King Cole) 3:10
3 Gee Baby, Ain’t I Good To You? (Andy Razaf, Don Redman) 4:58
4 Smile (Charlie Chaplin, Geoffrey Parsons, John Turner) 3:39
5 Moritat (Mack The Knife) (Bertolt Brecht, Kurt Weill) 4:43
6 Summer Wind (Heinz Meier) 2:53
7 What’d I Say (Ray Charles) 4:00
8 Till It Shines (Bob Seger) 3:50
9 You’ve Got A Friend In Me (Randy Newman) 2:39
10 Walking Tall (Burt Bacharach, Tim Rice) 3:13
11 Pass Me Not (Fanny Crosby, William Doane) 5:00
12 I’m A Soldier In The Army Of The Lord (Traditional) 3:29



1 Blue Skies

BassJohn Leftwich
DrumsRuss Kunkel
PianoMatt Rollings
SaxPlas Johnson

2 Straighten Up And Fly Right

BassViktor Krauss
DrumsKenny Malone
GuitarRay Herndon
PianoMatt Rollings

3 Gee Baby, Ain’t I Good To You?

BassAbe Laboriel
DrumsJohn Ferraro
GuitarDavid Hungate
PianoMatt Rollings

4 Smile

BassViktor Krauss
DrumsRuss Kunkel
PianoMatt Rollings

5 Moritat (Mack The Knife)

TrumpetMark Isham

6 Summer Wind

BassViktor Krauss
DrumsShawn Pelton
GuitarJohn Tropea
PianoRob Mounsey
SaxDavid Mann
SaxRoger Rosenberg
SaxDave Tofani
SaxKenneth Hitchcock
TromboneMichael Davis
TrumpetJeff Kievit
TrumpetJimmy Hynes

7 What’d I Say

BassViktor Krauss
DrumsSteve Jordan
Pedal Steel GuitarLarry Campbell
PianoRob Mounsey
SaxAndy Snitzer
SaxDave Tofani
SaxLawrence Feldman
Background VocalsCindy Mizelle
Background VocalsTawatha Agee
Background VocalsVaneese Thomas

8 Till It Shines

BassReginald McBride
DrumsLaval Belle
GuitarDean Parks
PianoJoellen Friedkin
Acoustic GuitarKeb Mo
VocalsKeb Mo

9 You’ve Got A Friend In Me

BassJames Hutchinson
DrumsJim Keltner
GuitarMark Goldenberg
HarmoniumRandy Newman
OrganKevin Savigar
PianoRandy Newman
ViolinGabe Witcher
VocalsRandy Newman

11 Pass Me Not

PianoGeorge Duke
Background VocalsEverett Drake
Background VocalsFrancine Reed
Background VocalsWayne Murray
Background VocalsWillie Greene

12 I’m A Soldier In The Army Of The Lord

BassViktor Krauss
DrumsJim Keltner
GuitarPat Bergeson
PianoGeorge Duke
Background VocalsHarry Bowens
Background VocalsSweet Pea Atkinson
Background VocalsWillie Greene

Other Musicians

Concertmaster – David Nadien (Track 6)
Orchestrated By – Jeremy Lubbock (Track 2)
Viola – Crystal Garner, Maryhelen Brennand, Sue Pray
Violin – Abe Appleman, Ann Leathers, Donna Tecco, Jan Mullen, Laura Hamilton, Maura Giannini, Nancy Mcalhany, Yuri Vodovoz (Track 6)
Vocals – The George Duke Singers (Track 12)

Liner Notes

Producer – Billy Williams (Tracks 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 12)
Producer – Lyle Lovett (Tracks 1, 2, 4, 8, 12)
Producer – Matt Rollings (Tracks 3)
Producer – Don Was (Tracks 4, 9)
Producer – Mark Isham (Tracks 5)
Producer – Russ Titelman (Tracks 6, 7)
Producer – Kevin Moore (Tracks 8)
Producer – Burt Bacharach, Elliot Lurie (Tracks 10)
Producer – George Duke (Tracks 11, 12)
Production Manager, Contractor – Jill Dell’Abate (Tracks 6, 7)
Arranged By, Conductor – Rob Mounsey (Track 6)
Arranged By (Horns) – Rob Mounsey (Track 7)
Copyist – Berry Lille, Steve Dannenberg (Track 6)
Engineer (Assistant) – Jeff DeMorris (Track 8)
Mastered By – Doug Sax
Mastered By (Assistant) – Robert Hadley
Mixed By – Nathaniel Kunkel (Tracks 1, 3, 8, 12)
Mixed By – Rik Pekkonen (Tracks 4, 9)
Mixed By – Stephen Krause (Tracks 5)
Mixed By – Dave O’Donnell (Tracks 6, 7)
Mixed By – Allen Sides (Tracks 10)
Recorded By – Nathaniel Kunkel (Tracks 1, 3, 4, 10, 12)
Recorded By – Rik Pekkonen (Tracks 4, 9)
Recorded By – Stephen Krause (Tracks 5)
Recorded By – Rob Eaton (Tracks 6)
Recorded By – Dave O’Donnell (Tracks 7)
Recorded By – Ross Hogarth (Tracks 8)
Recorded By – Allen Sides (Tracks 10)

Art Direction – Tim Stedman
Design – Tim Stedman

Manufactured By – Technicolor Universal Media Services
Distributed By – Universal Music & Video Distribution, Corp.
Phonographic Copyright (p) – MCA Records
Copyright (c) – Mike Curb Company, L.L.C.
Copyright (c) – MCA Records
Recorded At – Conway Studios
Recorded At – House Of Therm
Recorded At – Avatar Studios
Recorded At – Ocean Way Recording
Recorded At – Bismeaux Studios
Mixed At – Conway Studios
Mixed At – The Complex
Mixed At – Right Track Recording
Mixed At – Ocean Way Recording
Mastered At – The Mastering Lab