1979 Rufus – Numbers

Numbers is the seventh studio album by funk band Rufus, released on the ABC Records label in 1978. It was the band’s first album without Chaka Khan on lead vocals. Instead, band members Tony Maiden and David “Hawk” Wolinski shared lead vocal duties, with additional female leads by Helen Lowe and Maxayne. The album reached #15 on Billboard’s R&B Albums chart, #81 on Pop and included the single release “Keep It Together (Declaration of Love)” (US R&B #16).

Khan returned to the band for the recording of the following album Masterjam, produced by Quincy Jones.

Numbers would be Rufus’ final album on ABC Records. The label would be purchased and subsequently dissolved by MCA Records, and the band transferred to its roster.

Numbers also marked the debut of drummer John “J.R.” Robinson to the lineup. He would remain Rufus’s drummer for the rest of their run.


1  Ain’t Nobody Like You (Elainea Robbins, Tony Maiden) 4:26
2  You’re To Blame (David Wolinski) 3:48
3  Keep It Together (Declaration Of Love) (Allen Toussaint) 4:10
4  Dancin’ Mood (David Wolinski) 3:52
5  Red Hot Poker (Bobby Watson) 4:30
6  Don’t You Sit Alone (David Wolinski) 4:38
7  Bet My Dreams (David Wolinski) 5:05
8  Pleasure Dome (Elainea Robbins, Tony Maiden) 4:08
9  Are We (David Wolinski) 3:28
10  Life In The City (Bobby Watson) 4:50



BassBobby Watson
DrumsJR Robinson
GuitarBobby Watson
GuitarTony Maiden
GuitarDavid Wolinski
GuitarRichard Mikuls
ClavinetBobby Watson
ClavinetTony Maiden
KeyboardsKevin Murphy
KeyboardsDavid Wolinski
FluteBob Greve
FluteChuck Brooke
SaxBob Greve
SaxChuck Brooke
TromboneJohn Ervin
TromboneBill Lamb
TromboneDave Grover
TrumpetBill Lamb
TrumpetDave Grover
StringsErnie Freeman
PercussionEverett Bryson
PercussionJR Robinson
Background VocalsHelen Lowe
Background VocalsLaLomie Washburn
Background VocalsMaxayn Lewis
Background VocalsTony Maiden
Background VocalsDavid Wolinski

Other Musicians

1 Ain’t Nobody Like You

VocalsHelen Lowe
VocalsTony Maiden

2 You’re To Blame

VocalsDavid Wolinski

3 Keep It Together (Declaration Of Love)

PianoTruman Thomas
VocalsTony Maiden

4 Dancin’ Mood


6 Don’t You Sit Alone

VocalsDavid Wolinski

7 Bet My Dreams

TrumpetFreddie Hubbard
VocalsTony Maiden

8 Pleasure Dome

DrumsHarvey Mason Sr
VocalsTony Maiden

9 Are We

VocalsDavid Wolinski
VocalsMaxayn Lewis

10 Life In The City

VocalsTony Maiden

Liner Notes

Producer – Rufus, Roy Halee
Engineer – Roy Halee
Mastered By – Allen Zentz
Mixed By – Rufus, Roy Halee
Recorded By – Thom Wilson

Art Direction – Stuart Kusher
Design – Rod Dyer, Inc., Vartan Kurjian
Photography By (Cover) – Larry Du Pont
Photography By (Group) – Ed Caraeff

Recorded At – Dawnbreaker Studios
Mixed At – ABC Recording Studios
Mastered At – Allen Zentz Mastering