1977 The Mighty Clouds Of Joy – Truth Is The Power

Truth Is The Power is the eighth album by The Mighty Clouds Of Joy, released in 1977,

The Mighty Clouds of Joy was formed in 1961 and started out in a tradition-based style. Eventually they added soul, R&B, and rock flourishes into their musical mix (one of their early hits was produced by Gamble and Huff) without diluting the essential religious essence of their material. The long-lived group flourished throughout the rest of the 20th century, scoring numerous Grammy Awards and nominations, as well as several hit albums along the way.

Based in Los Angeles, California, the original group members include Joe Ligon (d. 2016), Johnny Martin (d. 1987), Ermant Franklin Jr., Artis Turnbough (d. 1999), Elmo Franklin (d. 2008), Richard Wallace, Leon Polk and David Walker (who also recorded several tracks with Link Wray under the name Bunker Hill).


1  There’s Love In The World (Tell The Lonely People) (Frank Wilson, Lawrence Brown, Terri McFaddin) 5:08
2  That’s What Friends Are Made Of (Frank Wilson, Judy Wieder) 4:36
3  Music Is My Way Of Life (Harry Booker, Linda Allen) 4:00
4  The Truth Will Set You Free (Frank Wilson, John Footman) 4:05
5  God Is Not Dead (Margaret Douroux) 4:45
6  I’ll Keep My Light In My Window (Leonard Caston, Terri McFaddin) 3:17
7  Listen People (Ernestine Madison, Frank Wilson) 3:59
8  Like A Child (Harry Booker, Linda Allen) 4:30



BassNathan Watts
DrumsAlvin Taylor
DrumsRaymond Pounds
GuitarGreg Poree
GuitarRay Parker Jr
GuitarSteve Beckmeier
KeyboardsBill King
KeyboardsJerry Peters
KeyboardsJohn Barnes
KeyboardsNeil Larsen
PercussionJack Ashford
PercussionShonda Akiem
Background VocalsCarmen Marie Burns
Background VocalsCarolyn Majors
Background VocalsEster Sykes
Background VocalsFrank Wilson
Background VocalsJohn Footman
Background VocalsJuanita Parker-Scott
Background VocalsLessie Williams
Background VocalsMarcellina Hawthorne

Liner Notes

Producer – Lawrence Brown (Tracks 1)
Producer – Terri McFaddin (Tracks 4)
Producer – Frank Wilson
Arranged By – Frank Wilson
Arranged By (Horns) – Bruce Miller (Tracks 3)
Arranged By (Horns) – Jerry Peters (Tracks 1, 4)
Arranged By (Rhythm) – Jerry Peters (Tracks 4)
Arranged By (Synthesizer) – Kevin Beamish (Tracks 3)
Arranged By (Synthesizer) – Michael Boddicker (Tracks 6)
Engineer (Mixing) – Frank Wilson, Kevin Beamish
Engineer (Recording) – Kevin Beamish

Art Direction – Frank Mulvey
Artwork (Tinting) – Bonnie Schiffman
Design – Kathy Mashburn
Photography By – Norman Seeff

Phonographic Copyright (p) – ABC Records, Inc.
Copyright (c) – ABC Records, Inc.