1973 Little Feat – Dixie Chicken

Dixie Chicken is the third studio album by the American rock band Little Feat, released in 1973. The artwork for the front cover was by illustrator Neon Park and is a reference to a line from the LP’s third song, “Roll Um Easy”.

The album is considered their landmark album with the title track as their signature song that helped further define the Little Feat sound. This was augmented by two additional members (guitarist Paul Barrere and percussionist Sam Clayton) added to make the more complete and familiar lineup that continued until their 1979 breakup following the death of Lowell George. Bassist Kenny Gradney was brought in to replace original bassist Roy Estrada, who had left after the band’s second album Sailin’ Shoes to join Captain Beefheart’s Magic Band. This new lineup radically altered the band’s sound, leaning toward New Orleans R&B/funk.


1  Dixie Chicken (Lowell George) 3:49
2  Two Trains (Lowell George) 3:00
3  Roll Um Easy (Lowell George) 2:27
4  On Your Way Down (Allen Toussaint) 5:20
5  Kiss It Off (Lowell George) 3:08
6  Fool Yourself (Fred Tackett) 3:10
7  Walking All Night (Bill Payne, Paul Barrere) 3:30
8  Fat Man In The Bathtub (Lowell George) 4:20
9  Julliette (Lowell George) 3:24
10  Lafayette Railroad (Lowell George, Bill Payne) 3:31



BassKenny Gradney
DrumsRichie Hayward
GuitarLowell George
GuitarPaul Barrere
Acoustic GuitarFred Tackett
KeyboardsBill Payne
SynthesizerBill Payne
SynthesizerMalcolm Cecil
TablasMilt Holland
PercussionRichie Hayward
Background VocalsBonnie Bramlett
Background VocalsBonnie Raitt
Background VocalsDan Hutton
Background VocalsDebbie Lindsey
Background VocalsGloria Jones
Background VocalsStephanie Spruill
Background VocalsTret Fure
VocalsBill Payne
VocalsPaul Barrere
VocalsLowell George

Liner Notes

Producer – Lowell George
Engineer – John Haeny, Michael Boshears, Robert Appère

Artwork (Portraits) – Chick Strand
Cover (Art), Design – Neon Park

Phonographic Copyright (p) – Warner Bros. Records Inc.
Copyright (c) – Warner Bros. Records Inc.
Manufactured By – WEA Manufacturing
Published By – Naked Snake Music
Recorded At – Clover Recorders
Pressed By – Specialty Records Corporatio