1987 Diana Ross – Red Hot Rhythm & Blues

Red Hot Rhythm and Blues is a 1987 studio album by the American singer Diana Ross released via EMI and RCA labels.

The album made the charts in the UK, Germany, the Netherlands and Austria, as well as reaching the top 20 in Sweden and Norway. It was Ross’s final album for RCA Records. It peaked at No. 73 on the “Billboard album chart in the US despite an Emmy nominated television special that was a ratings success. It sold around 125,000 copies in the USA.

The album included “Dirty Looks” (US R&B #12, UK #49) written by Richard Scher & Lotti Golden, and the ballad “It’s Hard for Me to Say”, produced by Luther Vandross. It also included cover versions of several R&B classics, including The Bobbettes’ “Mr. Lee” (UK #58), Jackie Ross’ “Selfish One,” Etta James’ “Tell Mama”, and The Drifters’ “There Goes My Baby”. A Shep Pettibone remix of “Shockwaves” was released as a single in the UK which peaked at #76.


Dirty Looks (Lotti Golden, Richard Scher) 3:21
2  Stranger in Paradise (Amy Sky, John Capek) 3:58
3  Shine (Mick Hucknall) 3:32
4  Shockwaves (Bill Wray, Diana Ross, Mark Cawley) 3:48
5  Selfish One (Carl Smith, Wilfred McKinley) 3:23
6  Mr Lee (Emma Pought, Helen Gathers, Jannie Pought, Laura Webb, Reather Dixon) 3:06
7  Tell Mama (Clarence Carter, Marcus Daniel, Wilbur Terrell) 3:38
8  There Goes My Baby (Benjamin Nelson, George Treadwell, Lover Patterson) 3:05
9  Summertime (Leonard Cohen, Sharon Robinson) 4:05
10  Cross My Heart (Hamish Stuart, Sharon Robinson) 4:10
11  It’s Hard for Me to Say (Luther Vandross, John Anderson) 4:42
12  Tell Me Again (Wintley Phipps) 3:13


BassNathan East
BassChuck Rainey
BassFrancisco Centeno
DrumsIvan Hampden
DrumsSteve Ferrone
DrumsSteve Gadd
GuitarEric Gale
GuitarJeff Mironov
GuitarSteve Farris
KeyboardsGreg Phillinganes
KeyboardsJohn Capek
KeyboardsJoseph Joubert
KeyboardsRichard Tee
SynthesizerJason Miles
SynthesizerSteve Goldstein
PercussionTommy Vig
PercussionPaulinho Da Costa
PercussionSammy Figueroa
Background VocalsBenny Diggs
Background VocalsDarryl Tookes
Background VocalsDennis Collins
Background VocalsJocelyn Brown
Background VocalsLani Groves
Background VocalsLuther Vandross
Background VocalsMaeretha Stewart
VocalsDiana Ross

Liner Notes

Producer – Tom Dowd (Tracks 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12)
Producer – Luther Vandross (Track 11)
Producer (Executive) – Diana Ross
Arranged By – Albert Schoonmaker, Charles Samek, Joseph Joubert, Marc Katz, Paul Riser (Tracks 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12)
Arranged By – John Anderson (Track 11)
Engineer – Larry Alexander (Tracks 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12)
Engineer – Paul Brown, Bruce Wildstein (Track 11)
Engineer (Assistant] – Adrian Trujillo, Don Rodenbach, Nick Basich (Tracks 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12)
Mastered By – Ted Jensen
Mixed By – Ray Bardani (Track 11)

Photography – Herb Ritts

Phonographic Copyright (p) – EMI Records Ltd.
Copyright (c) – EMI Records Ltd.
Produced For – Diana Ross Productions
Engineered At – Power Station
Engineered At – Encore Studios
Engineered At – Record Plant, N.Y.C.
Engineered At – Westlake Studios
Mixed At – Minot Sound
Mastered At – Sterling Sound
Copyright (c) – Image Equity Management Inc.