1986 George Strait – #7

#7 is the sixth studio album by American country music artist George Strait—his seventh album including his Greatest Hits—released on May 14, 1986, by MCA Records. It is certified platinum by the RIAA and it produced two singles: “Nobody in His Right Mind Would’ve Left Her” and “It Ain’t Cool to Be Crazy About You”, both of which reached Number One on the country charts in 1986.


1  Deep Water (Fred Rose) 2:34
2  Nobody in His Right Mind Would’ve Left Her (Dean Dillon) 2:52
3  Rhythm of the Road (Dan McCoy) 2:18
4  I’m Never Gonna Let You Go (Clay Baker) 3:11
5  You Still Get to Me (Dan McCoy) 2:05
6  Stranger Things Have Happened (David Chamberlain) 2:53
7  It Ain’t Cool to Be Crazy About You (Dean Dillon, Royce Porter) 2:52
8  Why’d You Go and Break My Heart (David Anthony) 2:31
9  My Old Flame Is Burnin’ Another Honky Tonk Down (Mack Vickery, Wayne Kemp, Bobby Borchers) 2:57
10  Cow Town (Hal Burns, Tex Ritter) 2:52



BassDavid Hungate
DrumsEddie Bayers
GuitarReggie Young
GuitarBilly Joe Walker Jr
GuitarRichard Bennett
Acoustic GuitarBilly Joe Walker Jr
Acoustic GuitarRichard Bennett
Steel GuitarPaul Franklin
MandolinJohnny Gimble
PianoJohn Jarvis
FiddleJohnny Gimble
Background VocalsCurtis Young
VocalsGeorge Strait

Liner Notes

Producer – George Strait, Jimmy Bowen
Engineer (Second Engineers) – Keith Odle, Mark Coddington, Russ Martin, Tim Kish
Mastered By – Glenn Meadows
Mixed By – Ron Treat
Recorded By – Willie Pevear
Recorded By (Overdubs Recorded By) – Bob Bullock, Chuck Ainlay

Art Direction – Simon Levy
Design – Camille Brown
Photography By (Photography) – Peter Nash

Manufactured By – MCA Records, Inc.
Copyright (c) – MCA Records, Inc.
Phonographic Copyright (p) – MCA Records, Inc.
Produced For – Lynwood Productions
Produced For – George Strait Productions
Recorded At – Sound Stage Studios
Recorded At – The Castle Recording Studios
Mixed At – Sound Stage Studios
Mastered At – Masterfonics