1980 The O’Jays – The Year 2000

The Year 2000 is the 16th album by The O’Jays, released in 1980

The O’Jays are an American R&B group from Canton, Ohio, formed in 1958 and originally consisting of Eddie Levert (born June 16, 1942), Walter Williams (born August 25, 1943), William Powell (January 20, 1942 – May 26, 1977), Bobby Massey and Bill Isles. The O’Jays made their first chart appearance with “Lonely Drifter” in 1963, but reached their greatest level of success once Gamble & Huff, a team of producers and songwriters, signed them to their Philadelphia International label in 1972. With Gamble & Huff, the O’Jays (now a trio after the departure of Isles and Massey) emerged at the forefront of Philadelphia soul with “Back Stabbers” (1972), and topped the Billboard Hot 100 the following year with “Love Train”. Numerous other hits followed through the 1970s and into the 1980s and 1990s, and The O’Jays were inducted into the Vocal Group Hall of Fame in 2004, and The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2005.


1  The Year 2000 (Kenneth Gamble, Leon Huff) 4:22
2  To Prove I Love You (Kenneth Gamble, Leon Huff) 4:12
3  You’ll Never Know (All There Is To Know ‘Bout My Love) (Gene McFadden, John Whitehead, Victor Carstarphen) 4:34
4  You’re The Girls Of My Dreams (Sho Nuff Real) (Dunn Pearson Jr, Eddie Levert, Walter Williams) 3:58
5  You Won’t Fail (Dunn Pearson Jr, Eddie Levert, Walter Williams) 5:21
6  Girl, Don’t Let It Get You Down (Kenneth Gamble, Leon Huff) 4:13
7  The Answer Is In You (Kenneth Gamble, Leon Huff) 4:24
8  Once Is Not Enough (Bunny Sigler) 5:47



BassJimmy Williams
BassMichael Foreman
BassRaymond Earl
DrumsLeon Chancler
DrumsCharles Collins
DrumsQuinton Joseph
DrumsScotty Miller
GuitarDennis Harris
GuitarKim Miller
GuitarRoland Chambers
GuitarWillie Ross
ClavinetDennis Richardson
KeyboardsDennis Williams
KeyboardsLeon Huff
KeyboardsMike Jackson
KeyboardsVictor Carstarphen
OrganJames Sigler
OrganLenny Pakula
PianoBunny Sigler
PercussionDavid Cruse
PercussionJames Mtume
PercussionLarry Washington
PercussionCharles Williams (2)

Liner Notes

Producer – Kenneth Gamble, Leon Huff (Tracks 1, 2, 6, 7)
Producer – Gene McFadden, John Whitehead, Victor Carstarphen (Tracks 3)
Producer – Dunn Pearson Jr, Eddie Levert, Walter Williams (Tracks 4, 5)
Producer – Bunny Sigler (Tracks 8)
Arranged By – Bobby Martin, Dexter Wansel, John R. Faith
Engineer – Jim Gallagher, Joseph Tarsia*, Peter Humphreys
Engineer (Assistant) – Bruce Bluestein, Michael Tarsia, Vincent Warsavage
Mastered By – Nimitr Sarikananda

Design – Ed Lee
Photography By – Ronald G. Harris

Phonographic Copyright (p) – CBS Inc.
Copyright (c) – CBS Inc.
Manufactured By – CBS Records
Manufactured By – CBS Inc.
Mastered At – Frankford/Wayne Recording Labs
Pressed By – Columbia Records Pressing Plant, Pitman