1971 Brethren – Moment Of Truth

Moment Of Truth is the second album by the band Brethren, released in 1971.

Brethren features Rick Marotta who spent several years in the early 1970s as the drummer for his own group, the short-lived Brethren. Tom Cosgrove sang and played lead, Stu Woods played bass (he would later appear on Todd Rundgren’s Something/Anything? album), and Mike Garson played keyboards. They released two albums; the first was the eponymous Brethren, which was mildly successful. The second, released as the band was crumbling, is almost impossible to find. The band had a unique sound, a mixture of rock and country, with traces of jazz and influences from Dr. John (Mac Rebennack), who wrote the album notes and the song “Loop Garoo” for them.



1  Loop Garoo (Mac Rebennack) 8:20
2  Wesley (Stu Woods, Tom Cosgrove) 3:00
3  The Sun And The Moon (Mark Klingman) 3:10
4  Freedom Blues (Eskew Reeder) 5:07
5  Lady On The Terrace (Tom Cosgrove) 3:51
6  Move On (Rick Marotta, Stu Woods, Tom Cosgrove) 3:54
7  Rainy Day Lady (Tom Cosgrove) 4:45
8  History Repeats Itself (Mike Garson) 3:48
9  Blaze (Stu Woods, Tom Cosgrove) 3:43


Bass Stu Woods
Drums Rick Marotta
Guitar Tom Cosgrove
Clavinet Stu Woods
Keyboards Mike Garson
Sax David Liebman
Trombone Barry Rogers
Congas Ralph MacDonald
Percussion Tom Cosgrove
Background Vocals Adrienne Albert
Background Vocals Albertine Robinson
Background Vocals Maeretha Stewart
Background Vocals Marilyn Jackson
Background Vocals Tasha Thomas
Vocals Tom Cosgrove

Liner Notes

Producer – Brethren
Engineer – Dave Palmer, Don Casale, Eddie Kramer
Mixed By – Stan Green

Recorded At Electric Lady Studios