1961 The Jazz Crusaders – Freedom Sound

Freedom Sound is the debut album by The Jazz Crusaders recorded in 1961 and released on the Pacific Jazz label.

In 1960, following the demise of a few short-lived Houston-based groups called The Swingsters and the Nite Hawks, Joe Sample (piano), Stix Hooper (drums), Wilton Felder (saxophone), and Wayne Henderson (trombone), relocated to Los Angeles. After changing their name to “The Jazz Crusaders,” the group signed with Pacific Jazz Records, where they would remain throughout the 1960s. Employing a two-manned front-line horn section (trombone and tenor saxophone), the group’s sound was rooted in hard bop, with an emphasis on R&B and soul.



1  The Geek (Wilton Felder) 5:41
2  M. J. S. Funk (Wayne Henderson) 5:56
3  That’s It (Wilton Felder) 4:43
4  Freedom Sound (Joe Sample) 8:24
5  Theme From ‘Exodus’ (Ernest Gold) 3:52
6  Coon (Wayne Henderson) 4:18



BassJimmy Bond
DrumsStix Hooper
GuitarRoy Gaines
PianoJoe Sample
SaxWilton Felder
TromboneWayne Henderson

Liner Notes

Producer – Richard Bock
Engineer (Audio) – Richard Bock

Design (Cover) – Woody Woodward
Liner Notes – John William Hardy

Record Company – Pacific Enterprises, Inc.
Copyright (c) – World-Pacific Records
Phonographic Copyright (p) – King Record Co. Ltd
Licensed From – United Artists Music And Records Group, Inc.