1979 Dr John – Tango Palace

Tango Palace is the ninth album by New Orleans singer and pianist Dr. John (Mac Rebennack) . It was his second and last album recorded for jazz label Horizon Records.


1  Keep That Music Simple (Giddon Daniels) 3:36
2  Disco-Therapy (Alvin Robinson, Mac Rebennack) 4:16
3  Renegade (Mac Rebennack, Gerry Goffin) 3:58
4  Fonky Side (Mac Rebennack, Doc Pomus) 5:56
5  Bon Temps Rouler (Mac Rebennack, Doc Pomus) 4:27
6  Something You Got (Chris Kenner, Antoine Domino) 2:40
7  I Thought I Heard New Orleans Say (Mac Rebennack, Doc Pomus) 4:27
8  Tango Palace (Mac Rebennack, Doc Pomus) 4:22
9  Louisians Lullaby (Mac Rebennack, Doc Pomus) 4:03



Bass Abraham Laboriel Srl
Guitar Hugh McCracken
Guitar Alvin Robinson
Keyboards Mac Rebennack
Clarinet Larry Williams
Clarinet Plas Johnson
Clarinet Jackie Kelso
Flugelhorn Oscar Brashear
Flugelhorn Warren Luening
Sax Larry Williams
Sax Kim Hutchcroft
Sax Herman Riley
Sax Plas Johnson
Sax Jackie Kelso
Trombone Benny Powell
Trumpet Charlie Miller
Trumpet Oscar Brashear
Trumpet Warren Luening
Tuba Tommy Johnson
Percussion Fred Staehle
Percussion Paulinho Da Costa
Percussion Neil Larsen
Percussion Ronnie Barron
Background Vocals Petsye Powell
Background Vocals Tami Lynn
Background Vocals Brenda Russell
Background Vocals Ronnie Barron
Background Vocals Jim Gilstrap
Background Vocals Muffy Hendricks
Background Vocals Denise Tramell

Other Musicians

1 Keep That Music Simple

DrumsAndre Fischer

3 Renegade

DrumsHerman Ernest
PercussionSteve Gadd

4 Fonky Side

DrumsSteve Gadd
PercussionHerman Ernest

5 Bon Temps Rouler

DrumsHerman Ernest
PercussionSteve Gadd
SaxGary Herbig

6 Something You Got

DrumsHerman Ernest
PercussionSteve Gadd
Background VocalsAlvin Robinson

7 I Thought I Heard New Orleans Say

DrumsHerman Ernest
CornetCharlie Miller
PercussionSteve Gadd

8 Tango Palace

DrumsSteve Gadd
PercussionHerman Ernest

9 Louisians Lullaby

DrumsSteve Gadd
PercussionHerman Ernest

Liner Notes

Producer – Hugh McCracken, Tommy LiPuma
Producer (Coordinator) – Noel Newbolt
Engineer (Assistant) – Linda Tyler, Don Henderson
Mastered By – Mike Reese
Mixed By – Al Schmitt
Recorded By – Al Schmitt, Norm Kinney

Art Direction – Roland Young
Design – Amy Nagasawa
Cover Art (Front) – Lou Beach
Photography – Mark Hanauer

Manufactured By – A&M Records, Inc.
Phonographic Copyright (p) – A&M Records, Inc.
Copyright (c) – A&M Records, Inc.
Pressed By – Columbia Records Pressing Plant, Terre Haute
Mixed At – Capitol REcording Studios
Mastered At – The Mastering Lab