1971 Little Feat – Little Feat

Little Feat is the first studio album by the rock band Little Feat. It was released in 1971 on Warner Bros. Records.

The album was recorded mostly during sessions between August and September 1970. Its sound is in a similar vein as the band’s more widely known later recordings, such as 1973’s Dixie Chicken and 1978’s Waiting For Columbus. The record features Little Feat’s Mk. 1 line-up, with Roy Estrada on bass. It was the first of eight albums by the band before its initial 1979 break-up. The cover shows a mural, “Venice in the Snow”, which was painted by the L. A. Fine Arts Squad in 1970 in Venice, Los Angeles. In 2007, the album was released as a gold CD through the Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab.


1  Snakes on Everything (Bill Payne) 3:10
2  Strawberry Flats (Bill Payne, Lowell George) 2:28
3  Truck Stop Girl (Bill Payne, Lowell George) 2:35
4  Brides of Jesus (Bill Payne, Lowell George) 3:26
5  Willin’ (Lowell George) 2:28
6  Hamburger Midnight (Lowell George, Roy Estrada) 2:35
7  Forty-Four Blues: How Many More Years (Roosevelt Sykes, Chester Burnett) 6:35
8  Crack in Your Door (Lowell George) 2:22
9  I’ve Been the One (Lowell George) 2:27
10  Takin’ My Time (Bill Payne) 3:53
11  Crazy Captain Gunboat Willie (Bill Payne, Lowell George) 2:00



BassRoy Estrada
DrumsRichie Hayward
GuitarLowell George
KeyboardsBill Payne
HarmonicaLowell George
PercussionRuss Titelman
Background VocalsRuss Titelman
Background VocalsRoy Estrada
Background VocalsRichie Hayward
VocalsLowell George
VocalsBill Payne

Other Musicians

5 Willin’

GuitarRy Cooder

7 Forty-Four Blues: How Many More Years

GuitarRy Cooder

9 I’ve Been the One

Steel GuitarPete Kleinow
PianoRuss Titelman

Liner Notes

Producer – Russ Titelman
Arranged By (Strings And Horns) – Kirby Johnson
Engineer – Bob Kovach, Rudy Hill
Remix – Bob Kovach

Art Direction – Ed Thrasher
Painting – Los Angeles Fine Arts Squad
Photography By – Susan Titelman

Phonographic Copyright (p) – Warner Bros. Records Inc.
Copyright (c) – Warner Bros. Records Inc.
Manufactured By – WEA Manufacturing
Published By – Abraham Music