1989 Simply Red – A New Flame

A New Flame is the third album by British pop group Simply Red, released in February 1989. It was a huge success worldwide, becoming the band’s first UK number one album and certified 7x Platinum by the BPI for sales of 2,100,000 copies in the UK alone. The album was also certified Gold in the US by the RIAA.


1It’s Only Love (Jimmie Cameron, Vella Cameron)4:58
2A New Flame (Mick Hucknall)3:57
3You’ve Got It (Lamont Dozier, Mick Hucknall)3:54
4To Be With You (Mick Hucknall)3:22
5More (Mick Hucknall)4:08
6Turn It Up (Lamont Dozier, Mick Hucknall)4:35
7Love Lays It’s Tune (Mick Hucknall)4:05
8She’ll Have To Go (Mick Hucknall)3:14
9If You Don’t Know Me By Now (Kenneth Gamble, Leon Huff)3:24
10Enough (Joe Sample, Mick Hucknall)5:10


BassTony Bowers
DrumsChris Joyce
GuitarHeitor Pereira
KeyboardsFritz Mcintyre
KeyboardsTim Kellett
SynthesizerErik Hanson
SynthesizerLarry Williams
SaxIan Kirkham
TrumpetTim Kellett
PercussionLenny Castro
Background VocalsFritz Mcintyre
Background VocalsStephanie Spruill
VocalsMick Hucknall

Liner Notes

Producer – Stewart Levine
Engineer (Assistant) – Clark Germain, Karl Lever
Engineer – Daren Klein
Mixed By – Daren Klein

Photography By – Juergen Teller, Sheila Rock
Sleeve, Design – Andrew Biscomb, Peter Barrett

Record Company – Warner Communications
Phonographic Copyright (p) – WEA Records Ltd.
Copyright (c) – WEA Records Ltd.
Recorded At – AIR Studios, Montserrat
Mixed At – Ocean Way Recording
Pressed By – Record Service GmbH