1982 Barbara Mandrell – In Black & White

…In Black and White is the 12th studio album by American country artist Barbara Mandrell. The album was released in April 1982 on MCA Records and was produced by Tom Collins. It was Barbara Mandrell’s first studio album in two years since the release of Love Is Fair.

…In Black and White was recorded in January 1982 in Nashville, Tennessee, and consisted of 10 tracks of new material. Greg Adams of Allmusic compared the fourth track, “Till You’re Gone” to Ronnie Milsap’s number-one country single “Lost in the Fifties Tonight (In the Still of the Night)”, saying that the track anticipated the “oily nostalgia…with its classic doo wop chord progression.” The album mainly contained country pop-influenced ballads such as “Till You’re Gone”. Adams gave the album three out five stars, calling the album “uneven” in parts. He stated, “The album is marred by synthetic production and uneven material, particularly with regard to the preponderance of generic ballads that aren’t rooted in any particular genre of music. Unless you’re a completist, enjoy “Till You’re Gone” on a greatest-hits collection and skip the rest.”

…In Black and White spawned two singles during the course of 1982. The lead single “‘Till You’re Gone” was released in April 1982 and peaked at number one on the Billboard Hot Country Songs chart, while also reaching number 25 on Billboard ‘s Hot Adult Contemporary Tracks chart. “‘Till You’re Gone” peaked also at number three on the Canadian RPM country chart. The second and final single “Operator, Long Distance Please” was released in August 1982 and reached number 9 on Billboard ‘s country singles chart and on Canada’s RPM Country Tracks chart. The album was issued in 1982 and reached number seven on the Billboard Top Country Albums chart and #153 on the Billboard 200 albums chart.


1  Operator, Long Distance Please (Dennis Morgan, Kye Fleming) 3:29
2  You’re Not Supposed To Be Here (Kent Robbins) 2:45
3  Rolling Stone (Don Pfrimmer, Gary Harrison) 3:34
4  Till You’re Gone (Tommy Brasfield, Walt Aldridge) 2:49
5  Some Things Never Change (Dennis Morgan, Kye Fleming) 3:39
6  Black And White (Dennis Morgan, Kye Fleming) 3:34
7  Gettin’ Over a Man (Clydene Jackson, Morgan Ames) 3:16
8  Dreams Don’t Lie (Dennis Morgan, Kye Fleming) 3:37
9  Why Am I Still In Love (Gary Harrison, Gene Miller, Kent Robbins) 2:40
10  The Thrill Is Gone (Lew Brown, Ray Henderson) 4:20



BassNeil Stubenhaus
BassBob Wray
BassJoe Osborn
BassMike Leech
DrumsBuster Phillips
DrumsMike Baird
GuitarBruce Dees
GuitarFred Newell
GuitarMarty Walsh
GuitarPete Bordonali
Acoustic GuitarFred Tackett
Acoustic GuitarJimmy Capps
OrganBobby Ogdin
PianoBobby Ogdin
PianoDavid Briggs
PianoShane Keister
SynthesizerShane Keister
HarmonicaCharlie McCoy
SaxRonald Eades
VibraphoneCharlie McCoy
Background VocalsBarbara Wyrick
Background VocalsBruce Dees
Background VocalsGene Miller
Background VocalsMarcia Routh
Background VocalsMarie Tomlinson
Background VocalsSteve Brantley
Background VocalsSusan Storm

Other Musicians

Strings – Shelly Kurland Strings, The String Machine

Liner Notes

Producer – Tom Collins
Arranged By (Strings) – Bergen White
Engineer – Dee Robb, Jay Lewis, Les Ladd, Steve Ham
Engineer (Assistant) – Ken Corlew, Russ Martin, Steve Ham
Engineer (Mixing) – Les Ladd

Art Direction – George Osaki
Design – Georgopoulos/Imada
Photography By – Mario Casilli

Phonographic Copyright (p) – MCA Records, Inc.
Copyright (c) – MCA Records, Inc.
Printed By – Team-Trykk A.S.
Produced For – Barbara Mandrell Productions
Recorded At – Woodland Studios
Recorded At – Cherokee Studios
Recorded At – Union Western Studios
Published By – Hall-Clement Music Publications
Published By – Welk Music Group
Published By – Jack And Bill Music Co.
Published By – Rick Hall Music
Published By – Tom Collins Music Corp.
Published By – Sweet Hooper Music
Published By – Marilee Music
Published By – Lottimer Publishing
Published By – Chappell & Co., Inc.
Lacquer Cut At – Rosenborg Studio
Pressed By – Musikkindustri A/S