1978 Bill Summers & Summers Heat – Straight To The Bank

Straight To The Bank is an album by Bill Summers & Summers Heat, released in 1978.

Bill Summers (June 27, 1948) is a New Orleans based Afro-Cuban jazz/Latin jazz percussionist, a multi-instrumentalist who plays primarily on conga drums. Summers is probably best known for to his work with Los Hombres Calientes along with his friend and co-leader of the group, trumpeter Irvin Mayfield. However, despite this musical relationship, Summers has a much longer musical career than that, often working behind the scenes on film scores for various movies such as The Color Purple and the television miniseries Roots with Quincy Jones. He also played with Herbie Hancock during The Headhunters years, and is mentioned in passing by the liner notes of The Headhunters’ 2003 release Evolution Revolution as contributing to that recording. His former wife is Yvette Bostic-Summers, who often sings on Los Hombres’ albums.


1  Woo Me Baby (Summers Heat) 3:56
2  Your Love (Bill Summers, George Spencer) 4:40
3  Love, Not My Life (Virginia Ayers, George Spencer) 3:52
4  Olado (Bill Summers) 3:20
5  Straight To The Bank (Leon Chancler, Bill Summers, Fred Washington, Leo Miller) 3:39
6  Creepy Crawlers / Landing And Visit (Summers Heat) 4:59
7  It’s On My Mind (Ray Obiedo, Leo Miller) 4:56
8  El Barrio (Bill Summers, Ray Obiedo, Munyungo Jackson) 5:39
9  All I Want (Fred Washington, Leo Miller) 4:44
10  Creepy Crawlers Exit (Summers Heat) 0:23



BassFred Washington
DrumsLeon Chancler
GuitarRay Obiedo
KeyboardsJohn Barnes
SynthesizerBob Robitaille
FlugelhornJerry Hey
FlugelhornOscar Brashear
FlugelhornRay Brown
SaxErnie Watts
SaxBill Green
TromboneBenny Powell
TromboneDick Hyde
TromboneGeorge Bohanon
TrumpetJerry Hey
TrumpetOscar Brashear
TrumpetRay Brown
PercussionDarryl Jackson
Background VocalsBill Summers
Background VocalsJosie James
Background VocalsLeon Chancler
Background VocalsMaxine Anderson
Background VocalsPatti Brooks
Background VocalsPetsye Powell
Background VocalsVirginia Ayers

Liner Notes

Producer – Leon Ndugu Chancler
Executive Producer – Orrin Keepnews
Producer (Produced In Association With), Percussion – Bill Summers
Producer (Production Assistant) – George Spencer, James Colhoun, Sylvia Ellis
Arranged By (Horns) – Charles Mims (Tracks 2, 3, 6, 7, 10)
Arranged By (Horns) – Reggie Andrews (Tracks 1, 4, 5, 9)
Arranged By (Horns) – Willie Mullings (Track 9)
Arranged By (Rhythm) – Bill Summers & Summers Heat, Leon Ndugu Chancler
Arranged By (Strings) – John Barnes
Coordinator (Musical Coordination) – George Spencer
Engineer – Phil Kaffel
Engineer (Assistant) – Danny Kopelson, Steve Williams
Mastered By – John Golden

Art Direction – Phil Carroll
Artwork By (Cover Concept) – Tanya Turner
Design – Lucinda Cowell

Published By – Bilsum Music
Published By – Hey Skimo Music
Recorded At – Fantasy Studios
Recorded At – Wally Heider Recording Studio, Los Angeles
Recorded At – Sunset Sound
Mixed At – Fantasy Studios
Mastered At – Kendun Recorders
Phonographic Copyright (p) – Fantasy Records