1979 The Doobie Brothers ‎– What A Fool Believes (US:#1 UK:#31)

“What a Fool Believes” is a song written by Michael McDonald and Kenny Loggins. The best-known version was recorded by The Doobie Brothers (with McDonald singing lead vocals) for their 1978 album Minute by Minute. Debuting at number 73 on January 20, 1979, the single reached number one on the Billboard Hot 100 on April 14, 1979 for one week. The song received Grammy Awards in 1980 for both Song of the Year and Record of the Year.

The song was one of the few non-disco No. 1 hits on the Billboard Hot 100 during the first eight months of 1979. The lyrics tell a story of a man who is reunited with an old love interest and attempts to rekindle a romantic relationship with her before discovering that one never really existed.




BassTiran Porter
DrumsJohn Hartman
DrumsKeith Knudsen
GuitarJeff Baxter
GuitarPatrick Simmons
KeyboardsMichael McDonald
SynthesizerBill Payne
CongasBob LaKind
Background VocalsKeith Knudsen
Background VocalsPatrick Simmons
Background VocalsTiran Porter
VocalsMichael McDonald

Produced By

Ted Templeman


Kenny Loggins
Michael McDonald