1979 The Doobie Brothers ‎– Minute By Minute (US:#14 UK:#47)

“Minute by Minute” is a song written by Michael McDonald and Lester Abrams originally released by The Doobie Brothers on their 1978 album Minute by Minute. The single was released in April 1979, debuted at number 67 on 5 May 1979, and reached number 14 on 23–30 June 1979 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart. It was nominated for a Grammy Award for Song of the Year, but lost out to The Doobie Brothers’ own “What a Fool Believes”. It has since been covered by other artists, including The Temptations, Larry Carlton, Stanley Clarke, Peabo Bryson, Kim Pensyl, Helen Reddy, Bobby Lyle, and Rick Janus.




BassTiran Porter
DrumsJohn Hartman
DrumsKeith Knudsen
GuitarJeff Baxter
GuitarPatrick Simmons
KeyboardsMichael McDonald
SynthesizerBill Payne
SaxAndrew Love
TrumpetBen Cauley
CongasBob LaKind
Background VocalsKeith Knudsen
Background VocalsPatrick Simmons
Background VocalsTiran Porter
VocalsMichael McDonald

Produced By

Ted Templeman


Lester Abrams
Michael McDonald