1977 Rhythm Heritage – Last Night On Earth

Last Night on Earth is the second album by Rhythm Heritage, released in 1977.

Rhythm Heritage was a 1970s American disco-funk band, best known for their 1976 US #1 single “Theme from S.W.A.T.”. It sold over one million copies and was awarded a gold disc by the Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA) in February 1976. They also recorded theme music for several other ABC television shows, including “Keep Your Eye On The Sparrow,” also from 1976, from Baretta (sung by Sammy Davis Jr.).

Rhythm Heritage was formed in 1975 by producer Steve Barri and session keyboardist Michael Omartian, and included bassist Scott Edwards and drummer Ed Greene. Other musicians who played on some of their recordings included Ben Benay, Victor Feldman, Jay Graydon, James Jamerson, Ray Parker Jr., Dean Parks, and Bob Walden.


1 Theme From \’Rocky\’ (Gonna Fly Now) (Ayn Robbins, Bill Conti, Carol Conners) 3:31
2 Dance The Night Away (Victor Feldman) 3:48
3 Disco Queen (Dan Walsh, Michael Omartian, Michael Price) 2:54
4 Do It Again, Cisco Kid (Medley) (Donald Fagen, Walter Becker, BB Dickerson, Charles Miller, Harold Brown, Howard Scott, Lee Oskar, Lonnie Jordan, Papa Dee Allen) 4:37
5 Theme From \’Lipstick\’ (Larry Kusik, Michel Polnareff) 3:35
6 Last Night On Earth (Part1) Angry World (Dan Walsh, Michael Omartian, Michael Price) 5:47
7 Last Night On Earth (Part2) Anytime, Any Place (Dan Walsh, Michael Omartian, Michael Price) 5:56
8 Last Night On Earth (Part3) Last Night On Earth (Dan Walsh, Michael Omartian, Michael Price) 5:17


BassScott Edwards
DrumsEd Greene
GuitarJay Graydon
GuitarBob Walden
KeyboardsMichael Omartian
SaxErnie Watts
SaxFred Selden
TrumpetChuck Findley
TrumpetSteve Madaio
PercussionVictor Feldman
PercussionDan Walsh
PercussionMichael Price
PercussionStephanie Spring
PercussionSteve Barri
Background VocalsLuther Waters
Background VocalsMichael Omartian
Background VocalsOren Waters

Liner Notes

Producer – Michael Omartian, Steve Barri
Concertmaster – Sidney Sharp
Engineer – Bill Schnee, Phil Kaye

Arranged By, Conductor – Michael Omartian
Art Direction – Frank Mulvey
Design – Tim Ritchie
Illustration – John David Moore

Recorded At – Producers Workshop
Recorded At – Kendun Recorders
Overdubbed At – Kendun Recorders
Mixed At – Kendun Recorders
Mastered At – Kendun Recorders