1972 Earthquire – Earthquire

This selftitled album by Earthquire was the only album they released in 1972. After the demise of Earthquire, leadsinger Tata Vega continued to work steadily in Top 40 bands and occasionally with some former members of Pollution. After hearing her voice on a demo for Jobete, Motown’s publishing wing, producer Winston Monseque and Motown executive Iris Gordy, were interested in managing her.


1  Sunshine Man (Tata Vega) 3:02
2  Harvest Feeling (John Salih) 3:34
3  A Day To Remember (Mark Hofstein) 4:17
4  Southern Comfort (Phyllis Brown) 4:28
5  Soul Long (Mark Hofstein, Tata Vega) 4:03
6  Soul Eyes (Tata Vega) 3:29
7  So Free (Mike Gorfaine) 4:09
8  This Feeling Won’t Last Long (James Quill Smith) 3:34
9  My Sea (Tata Vega) 4:29
10  Prayer Of Light (Mark Hofstein) 2:53



BassCharlie Stephens
DrumsJim Varley
OrganGreg Mathieson
PianoGreg Mathieson
FluteMark Hofstein
SaxMark Hofstein
PercussionTata Vega
Background VocalsBrie Brandt
Background VocalsLaurie Ann Bell
VocalsMike Gorfaine
VocalsTata Vega

Liner Notes

Producer – Tom Wilson
Arranged By – Earthquire, Mark Hofstein
Engineer – Bruce Ellison
Engineer (Assistant) – John Borman

Artwork By – Cliff McReynolds
Design (Cover Design) – Rod Dyer

Record Company – Motown Record Corporation
Recorded At – Wally Heider Studios
Published By – Jobete Music Co., Inc.
Pressed By – RCA Records Pressing Plant, Hollywood