1981 Juice Newton – Juice

Juice is the multi-Platinum 1981 breakthrough album by American country-rock singer Juice Newton. The album was Newton’s third solo album and her first major international success.

The album features two #1 hits “Angel of the Morning” and “The Sweetest Thing (I’ve Ever Known)”. It also contains “Queen of Hearts,” the biggest-selling single of Juice Newton’s career, which peaked at #2 on both Billboard’s Hot 100 and Adult Contemporary charts (“Endless Love” by Diana Ross and Lionel Richie prevented the song from reaching #1). “Queen of Hearts” was a popular music video during the summer of MTV’s debut. Newton would go on to have more hit songs and albums, but this remains the album for which she is best known.


1  Angel Of The Morning (Chip Taylor) 4:10
2  Shot Full Of Love (Bob McDill) 3:21
3  Ride’em Cowboy (Paul Davis) 3:29
Queen Of Hearts(Hank DeVito) 3:25
5  River Of Love (Juice Newton, Otha Young) 2:54
6  All I Have To Do Is Dream (Boudleaux Bryant) 3:06
7  Headin’ For A Heartache (Byron Hill, J Remington Wilde) 2:44
8  Country Comfort (Elton John, Bernie Taupin) 4:17
9  Texas Hearache (Chris Waters, Keith Stegall) 1:39
10  The Sweetest Thing (I’ve Ever Known)(Otha Young) 4:07



BassNeil Stubenhaus
BassScott Chambers
DrumsRick Shlosser
GuitarGeorge Doering
GuitarMitch Holder
GuitarOtha Young
GuitarTim May
GuitarChuck Martin
Pedal Steel GuitarDan Dugmore
Pedal Steel GuitarDoug Livingston
Pedal Steel GuitarJay Dee Maness
Acoustic GuitarBilly Joe Walker Jr
Acoustic GuitarDennis Budimir
Acoustic GuitarFred Tackett
Acoustic GuitarJuice Newton
BanjoBrad Felton
DobroBrad Felton
KeyboardsPhilip Aaberg
PercussionSteve Forman
Background VocalsAndrew Gold
Background VocalsBrock Walsh
Background VocalsHarry Stinson
Background VocalsJim Haas
Background VocalsJon Joyce
Background VocalsKenny Edwards
Background VocalsLewis Morford
Background VocalsStan Farber
VocalsJuice Newton

Liner Notes

Producer – Richard Landis
Producer (Associate) – Otha Young
Arranged By – Charlie Calello
Coordinator (Production Coordinator) – Ruth Burghardt
Mastered By – Wally Traugott
Mixed By – Michael Verdick
Recorded By – Joe Chiccarelli
Recorded By (Assistant) – David Cole, Hugh Davies, Karen Siegel, Mitchell Gibson

Art Direction – Henry Marquez, Roy Kohara
Photography By – Charles Bush

Phonographic Copyright (p) – Capitol Records, Inc.
Copyright (c) – Capitol Records, Inc.
Recorded At – Soundcastle
Recorded At – The Village Recorder
Recorded At – Capitol Studios
Mastered At – Capitol Studios
Mixed At – Location Recorders
Manufactured By – Capitol Records, Inc.