1980 Spinetta ‎– Only Love Can Sustain

Only Love Can Sustain is the fourth solo studio album and 11th in which the Argentine musician Luis Alberto Spinetta has decisive participation. Only album of his career in which he was not his artistic producer.

It was recorded in 1979 in the United States . This is the only album he recorded in English. It was part of a project to introduce Spinetta to the US market, which ultimately did not prosper. It contains own and other people’s songs and is characterized by a great musical production and a pop-jazz style. It is the most controversial work of Spinetta and he himself has declared publicly that he was not satisfied with the result. Despite this the album has been revalued over time and especially after his death in 2012. In 2016 the album was reissued by Sony Music on CD and digital format.


1  Who’s To Blame (Harold Payne, Tom Pierson) 4:37
2  Only Love Can Sustain (Luis Alberto Spinetta) 2:45
3  Love Once, Love Twice, Then Love Again (Byron Olson, Luis Alberto Spinetta) 4:25
4  Omens Of Love (Gino Vanelli) 3:34
5  Interlude (Jade I) (Luis Alberto Spinetta) 0:53
6  Interlude (Jade II) (Luis Alberto Spinetta) 0:27
7  Something Beautiful (Luis Alberto Spinetta) 4:50
8  Children Of The Bells (Guillermo Vilas, Luis Alberto Spinetta) 5:39
9  George’s Surprise (Luis Alberto Spinetta, Michael W Marcus) 4:20
10  Light My Eyes (Luis Alberto Spinetta) 5:31
11  Interlude (Jade III) (Luis Alberto Spinetta) 0:50



Bass Abraham Laboriel Sr
Bass Neil Stubenhaus
Bass Chuck Domanico
Bass Francisco Centeno
Drums James Gadson
Drums Ron Zito
Drums Terry Bozzio
Guitar Dennis Budimir
Guitar Marlo Henderson
Guitar Tim May
Guitar Spencer Bean
Guitar Jeff Mironov
Acoustic Guitar Jay Berliner
Fender Rhodes Pat Rebillot
Keyboards Tom Pierson
Flugelhorn Marvin Stamm
Drums Alex Acuna
Percussion Luis Conte
Percussion Paulinho Da Costa
Percussion Rubens Bassini

Liner Notes

Producer – George Butler
Coordinator (Musicians Of The East Coast) – Eugene Bianco
Coordinator (Musicians Of The West Coat) – Jules Chaikin
Arranged By – Byron Olson (Tracks 3, 8), Tom Pierson (Tracks 1, 7, 9), Torrie Zito (Tracks 2, 5, 6, 10, 11)
Engineer – Don Hahn (Tracks 1, 4, 7, 9), Frank Laico (Tracks 2, 5, 6, 8, 10, 11)
Engineer (Assistant) – Don Koldon (Tracks 1, 4, 7, 9)
Mastered By – Bernie Grundman
Recorded By – Bernie Grundman

Art Direction – George Butler
Design – John Berg
Illustration, Cover – Peter Sato
Photography (Back Cover) – Neil Ziozower

Copyright (c) – Sony Music Entertainment (Argentina) S.A.
Recorded At – A&M Studios
Phonographic Copyright (p) – Sony Music Entertainment Inc.