1979 Shankar – Touch Me There

Touch Me There is an album by (L.) Shankar, released in 1979 on Zappa Records. Shankar performed acoustic and 5-string Barcus Berry electric violin, string orchestra, and provided vocals on the track “Knee Deep in Heaters.” It was produced by Frank Zappa, and released by Zappa Records.

The album was produced by Frank Zappa who also served as the album’s lyricist and who co-wrote, with Shankar, the music for the tracks “Dead Girls of London” and “No More Mr. Nice Girl.” Shankar composed all the other music for the album, and further served as an arranger and orchestrator on the record.

The song “Dead Girls of London” was released as a 12″ maxi single on September 24, 1979.

In the final version of “Dead Girls Of London”, the lyrics are sung by Zappa and collaborator Ike Willis. Vicky Blumenthal provides the chorus on “Dead Girls Of London,” “Knee-Deep In Heaters,” and “No More Mr. Nice Girl,” while Jenny Lautrec sings the lyrics to the album’s title track, “Touch Me There,” and Shankar himself sings the lyrics to the album’s final track, “Knee-Deep In Heaters.”

The lyrics for the album’s opening track, “Dead Girls Of London” were originally supposed to be sung by Van Morrison, but since Morrison was signed to the Warner Bros. Records record label who Zappa was in a legal dispute with at the time, Zappa was unable to release the song on his label with Morrison’s vocals, and so it was re-recorded with vocals by Zappa and Ike Willis. The original version appeared on the compilation The Frank Zappa AAAFNRAAAAAM Birthday Bundle 2011.


1  Dead Girls Of London (Frank Zappa, Shankar) 5:20
2  Little Stinker (Shankar) 3:21
3  Touch Me There (Frank Zappa, Shankar) 3:03
4  No More Mr Nice Girl (Frank Zappa, Shankar) 8:15
5  Love Gone Away (Shankar) 3:33
6  Darlene (Shankar) 2:55
7  Windy Morning (Shankar) 3:57
8  Knee-Deep In Heaters (Frank Zappa, Shankar) 5:36



BassDave Markee
DrumsSimon Phillips
GuitarPhil Palmer
Acoustic GuitarPhil Palmer
MandolinPhil Palmer
OrganJames Lascelles
PianoJames Lascelles
SynthesizerJames Lascelles

Other Musicians

1 Dead Girls Of London

VocalsStucco Homes
VocalsVicky Blumenthal

3 Touch Me There

VocalsJenny Lautrec

4 No More Mr Nice Girl

VocalsVicky Blumenthal

Liner Notes

Producer – Frank Zappa
Engineer – Geoff Young
Mastered By – Bob Stone
Mixed By – Mick Glossop
Recorded By (Tape Operator) – Alan Douglas, Peter Woolliscroft, Tim Cuthbertson
Tracking By (Overdubs) – Steve Nye

Design (Album Design), Photography By – Carol Friedman