1972 Steely Dan – Can’t Buy A Thrill

Can’t Buy a Thrill is the debut studio album by the American rock band Steely Dan, released in November 1972 by ABC Records. It was produced by Gary Katz and written by band members Donald Fagen and Walter Becker. The album was recorded at The Village Recorder in Los Angeles.

The album was originally released in two-channel stereo and also in a special four-channel quadraphonic mix. There are some significant musical differences between the two mixes, such as extra lead guitar fills in the quad mix of “Reelin’ in the Years”.

Two songs recorded during the Can’t Buy a Thrill sessions were left off the album and released as a single (“Dallas” and “Sail the Waterway”). This is the only Steely Dan album to include David Palmer as a lead vocalist, having been recruited after Donald Fagen expressed concerns over singing live. Drummer Jim Hodder also chips in lead vocals on one song, “Midnight Cruiser”, as well as singing the “Dallas” single. By the time recording of the next album began, the band and producer Gary Katz had convinced Fagen to assume the full lead vocalist role.



1Do It Again (Donald Fagen, Walter Becker)5:55
2Dirty Work (Donald Fagen, Walter Becker)3:09
3Kings (Donald Fagen, Walter Becker)3:47
4Midnite Cruiser (Donald Fagen, Walter Becker)4:09
5Only A Fool Would Say That (Donald Fagen, Walter Becker)2:57
6Reelin’ In The Years (Donald Fagen, Walter Becker)4:34
7Fire In The Hole (Donald Fagen, Walter Becker)3:27
8Brooklyn (Owes The Charmer Under Me) (Donald Fagen, Walter Becker)4:21
9Change Of The Guard (Donald Fagen, Walter Becker)3:36
10Turn That Hearbeat Over Again (Donald Fagen, Walter Becker)5:00



BassWalter Becker
DrumsJim Hodder
GuitarElliott Randall
GuitarDenny Dias
GuitarJeff Baxter
Steel GuitarJeff Baxter
Acoustic GuitarJeff Baxter
OrganDonald Fagen
PianoDonald Fagen
FlugelhornEugene Young
SaxJerome Richardson
VocalsWalter Becker
VocalsJim Hodder
VocalsDonald Fagen
VocalsDavid Palmer

Liner Notes

Producer – Gary Katz
Engineer – Roger Nichols
Engineer (Assistant) – Tim Weston

Design (Cover) – Robert Lockart

Recorded At – The Village Recorder
Phonographic Copyright (p) – ABC Records, Inc.
Manufactured By – Astor Records Pty. Ltd.
Distributed By – Astor Records Pty. Ltd.